We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue, reasonable service, stingy portions of average food”
Review of The Watermill

The Watermill
Price range: US$8 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our focus is on providing a warm welcome, friendly attentive service and great food. Our flexible menu allows us to ensure items are fresh and seasonable. Real log fires for the cold winter months and a large beer garden for warmer weather provide plenty of reasons to visit all year round.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I ordered the Katsu chicken as a starter and was disappointed by the size of the portion, though I did enjoy the flavour. Others ordered the bread and dipping oils which turned out to be some lovely warm open texture bread, served with a mediocre olive oil poured onto a dish containing balsamic vinegar.
We were a large party and perhaps this is why they struggled to serve piping hot food. My husband’s steak meal was literally stone cold when it arrived. He sent it back and when it reappeared it was obvious it had been microwaved. My meal was not cold but not exactly piping hot either. I had ordered the £3 extra garlic prawn option on my steak meal. At first it was omitted from my plate, but when it did arrive it was laughably pathetic - a tiny skewer with three tiny prawns.
Everyone seemed to enjoy their desserts. No-one had a hateful meal, but it wasn’t the kind of place I would want to rush back to. It was just OK

1  Thank Lin6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of the food. Please be assured that when you indicated your steak was not hot enough it was reheated on the char grill it was cooked on, we would never microwave a steak. We changed to our Summer menu on Tuesday, there are some new choices, so should you wish to return I am sure we would not give you cause for further dissappointment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a family day out, thought we would try the Watermill for lunch
Service was average not very helpful, out of the 4 meals we ordered one was good two were reasonable and one was poor. The food was not hot and the suet pastry was like a rock. We h0ad the shared desert which was fine .

Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I have noted your comments regarding service and will monitor the quality of the suet pastry. Glad to hear you enjoyed your dessert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am difficult to please....but not here...A Tuesday lunchtime meal with a specials board to die for. Easy parking, great disabled facilities and you can take your dog into the restaurant and the hounds are doted over by staff even a few doggy-chews given to them and a bowl of fresh water provided. Food is honest 'pub-grub', well made, plenty of it, presented early. Toilets clean but a bit tired. 3 hours of a lovely lunch (we talked a lot!) with a visit to the seaside afterwards! Chris the manager was superb that day as was his entire team. Nice one

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarkHinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and yes we are a bit doggy mad in this pub! I have passed your comments onto Chris and we hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What purports to be a decent restaurant and eating experience fell quite short of expectations. Having driven past on countless occasions I thought I would try an evening meal here. Had to wait for an inordinate amount of time for our food due to a wait, despite the restaurant not even half full: we were only told there was a wait whilst already sat down and ordering. The food was lacking in substance and quantity; I ordered a Chicken, Ham and Leek Pie which was more pastry than anything else. Our serving staff seemed apathetic and payed us no real attention. When requesting the bill we left sitting down for fifteen minutes and ended up heading to the bar.

By far the worst element to this visit was the heavily intoxicated local bore who was allowed to harass every restaurant visitor who came in the building…. and the staff did nothing. I have worked in restaurants for years and I would have personally asked this man to leave the premises and stopped serving him alcohol, but no such action was taken.

I am trying to find the positives but there really isn’t much to recommend this place other than its location. bon appetit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raynald1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I apologise you were not happy with your visit and have noted your comments, which I will address with the team on duty at the time of your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wifey and I went there for a sunny Saturday lunch. We had not booked put that wasn't a problem. The service was quick and the staff polite.
We had lamb koftas and chicken katsu skewers which were really tasty put potion a little on the small side (3 small lamb and 3 small chicken pieces.
For mains I had beer battered haddock, chips and onion rings while Wifey had salmon bearnaise. The fish was good, the chips were great and the onion rings were superb.Wifey's salmon was well presented and very tasty, however there was a little too much bearnaise sauce on the plate which although tasted really nice, slightly overpowered the taste of the salmon.
We also had 2 large coca colas and our bill came to £42.
It's not the cheapest place in Glamorgan but I'd expect to pay a premium because of the location. There are good views of the river especially from the beer garden.
There is a good children's play area so you can dump the brats and have a nice quiet drink.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony P, General Manager at The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit, we believe our beer garden to be one of the best places to relax and have a drink when the sun is shining (which so far this year has been not often enough!) we hope to welcome you back to The Watermill soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermill also viewed

Ogmore, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Bridgend County
 
Ogmore-by-Sea, Vale of Glamorgan
 
St Brides Major, Bridgend County
Bridgend, Bridgend County
 

Been to The Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing