We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Excellent advice on where to kayak

Renting gear (two single kayaks with included life jackets and small dry bags) was easy and... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2023
Ali S
,
Fort Collins, Colorado
Fantastic Experience Kayaking!

Access to both Grand Lake and Shadow Mountain Lake via a channel connecting the two. AMAZING views... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2023
Joy H
Read all 99 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
96
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small business beautiful experience in great condition kayaking lake equipment renters employees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2023 via mobile

Drew the Kayak Dude was a pleasure to deal with. My wife and I spent over 2 hours out on Grand Lake and it was simply amazing. Come early for a 20% discount, and rent for two hours and get the third free. This is a beautiful place to go out on the water, and a great person to work with.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank rabbiross
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2023 via mobile

This was my first kayak experience and it was really great. My friend Alan and I rented a tandem kayak and paddled around Grand Lake and a bit of Shadow Mountain Lake, but SML was much more difficult to navigate. The boat and staff at Trail Ridge Marina were very kind, helpful, and had our fun and safety in mind. I would highly recommend it while visiting Grand Lake!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Koribobori
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

The day began kind of chilly, so we almost didn't kayak. So glad we did! The Kayak Dude was amazing and super helpful. We took full advantage of the discount for starting before 10. My husband and I chose a tandem kayak while our young adult daughter had a single. Drew, the Kayak Dude, gave us great suggestions as to where to go. We had an amazing morning on the lake. I highly recommend and we will do this again if back in the area. Thanks for a great addition to our vacation.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank N3615TNkimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023 via mobile

It’s a bit expensive, but kayaking on Grand Lake, and Shadow Mountain Lake is a great way to spend the morning. (If you get there before 10, the price is reduced, at least for now.) We have rented from the shop every year for the last four years. Most recently, we were out for about three hours, and reached almost the end of Shadow Mountain Lake, which was quite peaceful and beautiful. The folks at the rental place were all engaging and helpful and the kayaks were clean and in decent repair. A nice touch is that they provide small dry bags to carry wallets, phones and keys. If you decide to do this, definitely head out to Shadow Mountain Lake, as there is generally less traffic than on Grand Lake.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Kerouac2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2023

We had a great time renting one person and two person kayaks! Great one stop shop that includes the kayak, paddles, life jackets, and dry bags for our belongings. The staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable, giving us recommendations for routes to paddle around the lake and loading us into the kayaks and pushing us off. When some of our party tipped their kayak, they were already on the way with a rescue boat to pull them back to shore. The rates were very reasonable and flexible in terms of how long you stay out and understanding if you return late due to weather. The location is perfect, right in the center of grand lake with lots of shops and restaurants around to stop after kayaking. Thanks for a great time!!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Addison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews