We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food”
Review of XOONG

XOONG
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Mount Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Fun fusion a mix of Japanese & Chinese cuisine XOONG, the newest addition to Auckland’s thriving hospitality hub of Mt Eden Village offers diners contrasting flavours of Asia in a series of captivating dining rooms. Drawing from North East Asian influences, one is immersed into the bold and textural design of the 150 seat restaurant. Over two stories diners will find intimate spaces and secluded dining areas juxtaposed by minimalist Japanese and intricate Chinese designs. Opposite the cocktail bar a canopy of dramatic red lanterns leads you past the open kitchen and chef tables to the courtyard, offering guests a delightful journey of discovery. China and Japan make strange bedfellows as their tumultuous history would tell us and this dramatic past is the inspiration for the restaurant. Xoong beautifully marries this theme with the ever-popular aromas of a Vietnamese kitchen simultaneously tying the styles together and creating a menu of big flavours that is unmistakably unique.
Restaurant details
Description: Fun fusion a mix of Japanese & Chinese cuisine XOONG, the newest addition to Auckland’s thriving hospitality hub of Mt Eden Village offers diners contrasting flavours of Asia in a series of captivating dining rooms. Drawing from North East Asian influences, one is immersed into the bold and textural design of the 150 seat restaurant. Over two stories diners will find intimate spaces and secluded dining areas juxtaposed by minimalist Japanese and intricate Chinese designs. Opposite the cocktail bar a canopy of dramatic red lanterns leads you past the open kitchen and chef tables to the courtyard, offering guests a delightful journey of discovery. China and Japan make strange bedfellows as their tumultuous history would tell us and this dramatic past is the inspiration for the restaurant. Xoong beautifully marries this theme with the ever-popular aromas of a Vietnamese kitchen simultaneously tying the styles together and creating a menu of big flavours that is unmistakably unique.
Reviewed 21 September 2023

A wonderful experience. The staff were really attentive and gave excellent food advice and the food itself was exceptional. The shared plates were perfect sizing for the three of us and the food itself was totally amazing. My new favourite restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank GGin2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2023

Xoong is a go-to dining restaurant, because it consistently provides friendly and accomodating service, excellent food with a varied selection (no dishes disappoint), great wine selection, easy parking in Mt Eden, staff take time to engage in conversation with customers/diners.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank celializ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023

Each dish was a winner, the desserts were absolute stand outs & the waiting staff were the best I have experienced in a long time.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank KateHall23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2023

Had a lovely meal, portion sizes were larger than we expected! Asian greens were amazing… wish I knew what was in the sauce.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank AliciaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023

Tasked with booking a restaurant for an extended family get together, after a few misses due to fussy eaters not liking menu choices available, I landed on Xoong. I’d never been before but had passed by a few times and heard good things. Everyone said it was amazing and I was toasted at the end of the evening for finding such a gem.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank StephanieB6390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed XOONG also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to XOONG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.