We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to celebrate and dine”
Review of XOONG

XOONG
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Mount Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Fun fusion a mix of Japanese & Chinese cuisine XOONG, the newest addition to Auckland’s thriving hospitality hub of Mt Eden Village offers diners contrasting flavours of Asia in a series of captivating dining rooms. Drawing from North East Asian influences, one is immersed into the bold and textural design of the 150 seat restaurant. Over two stories diners will find intimate spaces and secluded dining areas juxtaposed by minimalist Japanese and intricate Chinese designs. Opposite the cocktail bar a canopy of dramatic red lanterns leads you past the open kitchen and chef tables to the courtyard, offering guests a delightful journey of discovery. China and Japan make strange bedfellows as their tumultuous history would tell us and this dramatic past is the inspiration for the restaurant. Xoong beautifully marries this theme with the ever-popular aromas of a Vietnamese kitchen simultaneously tying the styles together and creating a menu of big flavours that is unmistakably unique.
Restaurant details
Description: Fun fusion a mix of Japanese & Chinese cuisine XOONG, the newest addition to Auckland’s thriving hospitality hub of Mt Eden Village offers diners contrasting flavours of Asia in a series of captivating dining rooms. Drawing from North East Asian influences, one is immersed into the bold and textural design of the 150 seat restaurant. Over two stories diners will find intimate spaces and secluded dining areas juxtaposed by minimalist Japanese and intricate Chinese designs. Opposite the cocktail bar a canopy of dramatic red lanterns leads you past the open kitchen and chef tables to the courtyard, offering guests a delightful journey of discovery. China and Japan make strange bedfellows as their tumultuous history would tell us and this dramatic past is the inspiration for the restaurant. Xoong beautifully marries this theme with the ever-popular aromas of a Vietnamese kitchen simultaneously tying the styles together and creating a menu of big flavours that is unmistakably unique.
Reviewed 25 May 2021

We had reviewed the menus prior and sort of made choices - but changed them on the night - so many yummy looking things. We shared 4 smalls and 4 bigs, plus a salad and rice, and shared two desserts as well. Great wait staff, attentive, recommended, but not in your face. Food did not disappoint - flavours just great - in very dish. We will be back again.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank ET7072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 146 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2021

First time visit. Very welcoming. Lovely staff. Stylish and immaculate surroundings. Ambience was perfect. The food was delightful and tasty. Mix of small and larger Asian fusion dishes - I tried and enjoyed dishes I'd never been game to try before. They also do there own types of cocktails. Great selection of Sake. The whole experience could not be faulted. And our waitress was fantastic - very helpful and accommodating. Highly recommended. Compared to the cost of other high end restaurants I've been to in Auckland the cost was very favorable and it was easily the best in decor , setting and food.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Chopper_Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2021

Food and the place was amazing. Nice to be accommodated to bigger table no hassle. Everyone enjoy the food, very tasty, tender and good for sharing Eggplant chips?Must try! Yummy. It’s local come and visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank belles897
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2021

As always a place to go back to. Not a disappointing dish on the menu and all eating choices are catered for.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank celializ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2021

Visited this Auckland restaurant for the first time. Staff were attentive and helpful. The "small" dishes were a good size for the price ( around $19), and very tasty. Had the fried squid and the lamb chops. Perhaps a little too much chilli on the squid for my taste, but otherwise perfect. My dining friend and I felt we didn't need 2 mains, so ordered another small dish ( salmon) and a green stir fired salad with broccoli. The vegetable dish was the least interesting of the courses. It needed a bit more flavour - perhaps a bit more soy or sesame sauce. The drinks menu was well curated. Lovely exterior to the restaurant with many colourful lanterns. Definitely worth eating out at this place.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Chantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed XOONG also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to XOONG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.