We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
49
34
11
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
49
34
11
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rv sites close to town crushed stone red cliffs regular schedule sewer hose foot motorhome bike trail mature trees big rigs animas river grassy area enjoyed our stay steam train would stay here again gravel trolley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2022

We stayed here for two nights. Very quiet. We were towing a trailer and they were very accomodating and gave us two sites so we could pull through. They were also very helpful in advise on the routes we were going to take to Montrose. We did the scenic ride on our motorcycle only and took a longer less stressful route with the RV. We did ride the trolley to town the first night. Very convenient and $1 each way per person.
Lots of shops and restaurants in town.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

Reservation made over the phone, could not get email confirmation, said they mailed it but never received. We called to confirm, all was good. Staff was very nice. Location is great, close to town. We rode the trolley from here one day. Water truck watered the gravel roads to minimize dust, it worked, wasn’t dusty. Beautiful setting, we stayed in our motorhome. Grass tent sites were the prettiest we’ve seen. RV sites are back/back, front/front so you aren’t looking at your neighbor’s sewer hose like most places, a nice touch.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LuvAZTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

Management is obsessed with the grass for their tent sites and *will* make you move after three days. They left notices taped to our things while we were out hiking one day and we been told we didn’t need to move until the next day. We were also informed that there are no reservations over three days period. The camp ground is very NOISY, lots of traffic in and out at all hours and noise from the highway right next to it.

We had issues with youth groups and small children running around past quiet hours with no after hours method of contacting security etc. Management cares only for the money having a campground right off Hwy 550 brings.

Pass this one up and head further into the San Juans or find somewhere else.

Room tip: Not worth it
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank two2detour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2021

This is a very nice campground. It’s adjacent to Rt. 550, so it’s easy to access, but since the campground is set down from the highway there’s no road noise. Pretty views of mountains and pastures. The Durango Steam Train goes by a couple of times a day. It’s fun to watch it go by and wave. The train doesn’t run at night so no problem with it interrupting sleep. Close to downtown Durango and the Animas River walk/bike trail. Staff is friendly and check-in went smoothly. Interior roads are crushed stone and level. The corners are tight, but do-able with care in our 40 foot motorhome. Sites are a decent size with a crushed stone landing pad and grassy area with a picnic table. There are mature trees in the park for shade. The park is very well maintained. We had a pull-through full hookup and water, sewer, and electric worked with no issues. WiFi was good. T-mobile was weak but useable. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be back next spring.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsB0wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2020

Pros: Beautiful grounds kept very clean. Trolley stop to town. Very close to Oxbow River park. Cons: VERY NOISY: RV spots crammed together so you hear vehicles coming in at all hours, driving around noisy gravel and couples arguing about how to park the RV in such a tight spot. The trash dumpster lids are so heavy they slam down with a horrific bang that sounds as loud as a fog horn but worse because it is metal on metal. The management doesn't lock them during quiet hours so be prepared to be jolted from sleep all night long. It is especially bad if you get an RV spot next to the dumpster and you will also have bears in your site around your picnic table nightly certain times of year as they go for the dumpster. Management does not enforce their nuisance barking rule so you will hear inconsiderate owners' dogs barking incessantly for hours on end. If cramping in between two RVS, listening to vehicles driving around gravel and motorcycle engines revving day and night, jarring trash dumpster lid noise at 3 am, and barking dogs sounds like your idea of camping and you are willing to pay for that then this is the place for you. I will not comment further on the rude management as it's been covered enough in other reviews.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews