We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House in magical surrounding.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Mountain House 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2 The Mountain House from the living room onto the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2
The Mountain House from the living room onto the deck
The Mountain House 4
The Mountain House 5
The Mountain House 6
The Mountain House 7
The Mountain House 8
Optional second bedroom and en-suite
The Mountain House 10
The Mountain House 11
The Mountain House private garden and braai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clovelly, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sonja E
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in magical surrounding.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in this house with 2 young kids. We all loved every minute of our stay. Every detail of the house is well thought off. Kitchen has all you could think of and need. We enjoyed eating on a huge terrace taking in all the sunrises and sunsets over the oceans! It was fantastic! The owners are very nice, friendly and ready to help with any advice or things you may need. We felt at home instantly and loved coming home every day after exploring Cape town. Our boys loved the nice walk in wetlands that leads toward the beach. My personal favorite were the heated floors everywhere and the location with the views! I don't know how you could not love this place! I highly recommend this property and thank you Karin and Miles for everything! All the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lastinger
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“beautiful place and wonderful people”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here with our three sons (ages 8,8, and 10) in October as we backpack around the world for a year. It's one of our favorite places so far. Miles and Carin were so friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome. The Mountain House was perfect for the five of us with two bedrooms and two baths plus a wonderful deck from which we could enjoy the spectacular views.
We loved the area as well. There is so much to do. The house is an easy drive into the center of Cape Town and is within walking distance of Fish Hoek, Kalk Bay and other nearby villages. It is also an easy drive to the Stellenbosch area where you can visit the various vineyards.
We took the train to Muisenberg and then walked back to the Mountain House, stopping at Surfer's corner to surf for a while and stopping for lunch and dinner on the way back. It was a really nice way to spend a day!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanVerde
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Comfortable, Kind”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My parents and I stayed in the Mountain House this past April. I've been living in Malawi this year, and my parents flew from Seattle to South Africa to see me. It was incredibly important to me that they enjoy themselves, and our stay at the Mountain House left nothing to be desired.

It is in a great area--quietly placed on the side of the mountain, with lovely views. There are nice trails nearby where you can safely walk and run. Kalk Bay (cute, good restaurants, boutiques) and Fish Hoek (grocery stores, etc) are within easy walking distance. The house itself is lovingly maintained, furnished in a modern but comfortable style, and boasts a wonderful deck and garden braai area. I was very happy to come home at the end of each day of exploring!

Most importantly, Carin and Miles are amazing hosts. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants in the area, and are very kind and accommodating.

I recommend the Mountain House enthusiastically and without reservation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, design, hosts
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AR
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing