We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home, location, view off porches, and...”
On a clear day, you really can see forever
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On a clear day, you really can see forever
Living spaces echo natural colors of sand and surf The Great Room with awesome views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
On a clear day, you really can see forever
Living spaces echo natural colors of sand and surf
The Great Room with awesome views
Open floor plan invites conversation
Enjoy romantic dinners at sunset
Galley Kitchen is efficient and close to everything
Breakfast Bar offers additional seating
Entry room with great work station
Seating area w/ barbecue, outside Kitchen
Downstairs deck offers more dining options
Upstairs Master Bedroom #1
Master Bathroom #1
Enjoy private deck off Master Bedroom #1
Contemporary style outside, beautiful inside!
Upstairs Bedroom # 3
Upstairs hall Bathroom
Downstairs Master Suite #2
Full Kitchen in downstairs Suite
Downstairs Bedroom #4
Sitting Room in Bedroom #4 w/day bed
Ready for the beach?
Stearns Wharf
Downtown Carpinteria a few miles south
Take in a race
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Summerland, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YoTravele...
Northern California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful home, location, view off porches, and time!”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Six of us thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Summer Hill Retreat last weekend. With four spacious bedrooms, each effectively with their own bathroom/shower combo, it was like we had our own micro hotel. All we could have asked for was found in the kitchen, and living spaces inside and out were perfect for the nice 72 degree days. And what a view of the ocean Channel Islands off the huge decks. Santa Barbara was not far away, and we enjoyed the wine district as well as the State Street - definitely tons of fun. Also great was the Summerland Cafe, just down the hill - a must stop for breakfast. There is a nice trail from the house right down to it! Not much more walking from there to the beach. We all had a wonderful time, and look forward to returning one day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie L
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful home perfect for a family vacation!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Summer Hill Retreat. It was the perfect size for our family with plenty of room to be together, but also plenty of space to spread out and take in the sweeping views solo. The kitchen was the most well-equipped vacation kitchen I've ever used!

There is a mold problem on the bottom level. If they can sort this out, we will most definitely be back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Summerhil Retreat is a great spot! We are so glad to hear this guest enjoyed their stay, the views and the kitchen - we do our best to be sure kitchens are well equipped so guests can enjoy cooking and have all they need at their disposal!
We have installed a dehumidifier at this home in the lower level that has all but completely removed moisture issues in the lower level. This summer has been unusually humid in Santa Barbara so this guest did experience extra humidity and moisture. Also also beach homes have the challenge of extra moisture in the air! We will re-evaluate the lower level and be sure that the dehumidifier is in excellent working order. We hope you will return again and have another great trip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Encinitas, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer Hill Retreat; Great Place - Great View of Ocean”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was the most compete place we have ever rented. The kitchen, audio and TV, every room was fully appointed. We had six adults and three children under 6. Plenty of room for all and the layout was such that you could have two families each using their own kitchen and bathrooms. The covered and uncovered patios at multiple levels would have been enough for a group twice our size. On-site parking was more than needed. Fantastic view of the ocean. If we ever have a need for a place for our extended family in the Santa Barbara Area, we would definitely come back here. Close to beach, freeway, and Santa Barbara yet quiet and uncrowded

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had everything, even the things we usually bring with us
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balva
1 review
“AWSOME HOME”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Honestly I was a little worried when i was signing up for this but this home is exactly what pictures look like....trust me you will not be disappointed. ..uts also very huge!!! Loved it and definitely would stay there again!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing