We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
51
69
26
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
69
26
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railroad street walking distance to the downtown area nice outdoor pool crew members train noise reward points hotel is located business travel sonoma valley wineries nice hotel rooms are clean shopping and restaurants counter space bathroom area fitness center visiting the area night stay
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We have stayed here 3 times before,last time was July 2012.The hotel is in the Railroad Square district,where the city station has been made into a park with surrounding blocks that have shops,and eating places.It is about 2 blocks off an exit from Highway 101.
The hotel is within walking distance of downtown where more shops,eating establishments,and a mall can be found.Thus park your car and forget it.
The hotel is an upscale Courtyard,with nice grounds,plenty of street parking,and a lobby restaurant.Best of all is a very nice outdoor pool,up to 6 ft. deep,and a hot tub.It is well maintained,and a call for towels,or help with the tub,will be cheerfully answered.
The room was fairly spacious,the only oddity is the sink is outside the bath,next to the closet,a bowl type set on top of the counter,leaving little space for toiletries.
My only complaint is the easy chair,which has no table next to it for drinks,books,etc.,so they have to go on the floor.There is room for another chair,but only one.
Room cost was about $190 for 2 twins.Getting a king bed would mean paying $25/night more.
The hotel offers 2 newspapers every morning,a nice touch.The breakfast was very good and reasonable.It is the only courtyard i have seen that has a kitchen.Dining room furniture is modern and very comfortable,with ample tv sets at several high tables which can be used as a personal TV with a remote selector.

Room Tip: any would be o.k.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for all your kind comments as well as the feedback on a few room features. Very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Stayed for multiple days in a row so have a pretty good idea how the hotel functions. It is Courtyard with the Bistro and no free coffee in the lobby. The parking lot is large, but half of it is taken up by downtown people parking for free in the Courtyard lot. Late at night that is annoying and they should be towed. There is no easy way in or out of the hotel except the front entrance. Having a functioning side entrance would ease the burden of the long walk from your car.
The front desk staff is very pro-active and friendly. The two elevators are fast. Lobby features several computer workstations with working printers. There is one set of washer/dryer in the hotel as well.
Our room was a double and kind of a tight fit. Like others have stated, the sink is in the room itself and the bathroom consists of both the toilet and tub. We had a fridge but no microwave. HVAC and internet worked great. Bed and bedding was comfortable.
The area around the hotel is a walkable area with the bike/walk path located aside the hotel and you are only a quick walk across the street to shops and dining. This was a plus.
Hotel stay was enjoyable just expensive for a Courtyard but I am sure they are able to get it because the area is so beautiful.
Oh and the train behind the hotel was only a weird two car train that ran between??? It was not loud and did not run late at night. Some kind of local Santa Rosa train. No need to be concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and pointing out the issues you experienced with the parking. Our guests are the hotels only priority and corrective measures will be taken to resolve this. Your comments regarding the trains are spot on. Although we are in the historic railroad district there are no freight trains; just the new Sonoma Marin commuter train, (no horns) which does not run late at night.

Thank you again, we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel. Lovely spacious and clean room. Free parking and helpful staff. Ideal location for touring around.
One downside to the Santa Rosa area is the homelessness. Not just limited to there but a lot of California. Made me a bit uncomfortable walking to the Main Street.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HelenT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

This hotel had an excellent center location. We explored the area in all four directions during our four day stay and the convenient location was great. Yes, there are homeless people in the area at night, but that is all over Santa Rosa and many other California towns, so you can't fault the hotel on that. It was good to be able to walk to restaurants and shops, although we only did this during the day. I was extremely pleased that we had free parking. So many hotels today are money hungry and charge even when they have adequate parking spaces. This was a big plus! The hotel was clean but I don't like the double beds. They could start upgrading to queens, IMO. I really disliked the bathroom set up. The glass doors look cool and modern but are really stupid in a hotel room because if someone has to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, the light wakes up everyone sleeping. Also, we never had enough towels for all four of us...it was an annoying problem we had to handle every day. And, although a sink is nice outside of the bathroom, it would be better to have one in the bathroom also (again, to not disturb others in the room!)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Room nice, question the location for safety : near homeless camps along walking path and homeless shelters.

Had car window broken in a car prowl. No particular show of interest form the hotel front desk. Simply a "I will tell Hotel security"

No follow-up to express any concern.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomhV4151AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, General Manager at Courtyard Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Good evening,
Please accept my sincere apology for lack of concern you received when reporting the issue to our desk staff. This type of incident is not typical in our area however, we should be better prepared to respond and I can assure you we will re-train to offer support and any necessary information needed to assist with reporting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews