We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$302
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$302
PricelineUS$302
Agoda.comUS$302
eDreamsUS$302
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
121
224
105
37
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
121
224
105
37
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Great self catering apartments. Loved the whole feel of being in California circa 1960s. (With the modern amenities of wifi and a 24 hour world round the corner of course)!

Good sized rooms - double & single beds in a pretty large bedroom, seperate bathroom and kitchen - complete with lots of vintage touches. Living room was big enough to have a fold out double couch-bed tables chairs etc. Got a laundry room too. Apt was in a square complex overlooking the pool with palm trees and pool lighting, deck chairs etc. Big floor to ceiling windows meant you could sit back and enjoy the view if you didn't want to socialise. Quiet place though and people kept to themselves. Which suited me fine!
Brilliantly located as it was only a few minutes walk from beach and 3rd street stores and the bars & cafes off it. Supermarkets are walking distance too,
Very helpful staff who helped out with any requests over the course of our week. Can imagine this appealing to some more than others, has a cool kind of vibe but not the kind of place id expect to find the entitled status driven banker types. Thankfully!
Great place. I will return!

Room tip: For the full LA trip get a poolside room. Unless you want total privacy go to the other side.
Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank QueallyFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

The check in person was great. The grounds and pool area is nice and easy access from the rooms. The room itself was very clean and dated, but spacious with full kitchen and ding area. The hotel is like an Airbnb apartment. I’ve stayed in the area for over 25 years and price and location is outstanding. I believe the parking was included which was an added bonus. The only reason it wasn’t a five star was the noise from commercial trucks on Saturday morning (didn’t hear anything on Friday morning) and no blackout curtains in the main living area where the pull sofa bed is located.m was very bright in the early mornings.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank santamonica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2019 via mobile

The sweetest check in staff ever, Yes rooms are a bit dated
However the location was amazing
Wish internet had worked a bit better
The pool was clean and lots of clean towels by the pool
Two TVs ‼️Everything you would need in the kitchen to
Cook a meal ...... plus coffee
My granddaughter heard people coming in late at night
But I slept ..... old person

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PCYC869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Stayed with parents. Very good for family. Good equipped kitchen. Great location, steps to the ocean in the heart of Santa Monica.Very friendly stuff. We came from Canada and I wrote in advance that we will come before check-in. Room was ready and theyallow us to check-in earlier. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2019

Thank you for the amazing review! Our staff tries extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We are happy that we were able to accomplish that during your stay with us. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019

We stayed at Cal Mar Hotel over sprig break with 2 adults and 4 young kids and the hotel was perfect for a large family. The room we had is more like an apartment with a huge living, bathroom and private bedroom. It is a great location only a couple blocks to the main street and the paths that leads down to the beach. The quality of the rooms is super outdated so if you are expecting the quality of a 3 or 4 star hotel this is not the place for you but for us it was perfect and practical and affordable. The pool is decent for what it is and the kids loved it. Really our only complaint was that it seems the Santa Monica garbage trucks picks up garbage around the build EVERY morning so with the paper thin windows we were woken up every morning we were there about 7:00 by the garbage truck. Overall I would highly recommend it!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KyleB654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel578, Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2019

Thank you for the review! Our staff tries extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We are happy that we were able to accomplish that while you were here with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding our décor and morning noise coming from the garbage, we will keep your comments in mind to further improve our guest experience. We are currently seeking out solutions. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews