We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling seafood restaurant with great food and service”
Review of Brophy Bros.

Brophy Bros.
Ranked #34 of 586 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a casual seafood house that is located right on the dock in the Santa Barbara Harbor. You’ll find a bustling scene of fisherman, young professionals and sand-sprinkled beach-goers nearly every night of the week at this true-blue waterfront institution. Dungeness crab cocktail, oysters on the half-shell and fried shrimp round out the “small” menu offerings. Fresh fish specials, such as grilled white sea bass from local waters, mahi mahi dusted in Cajun spices and pan-blackened local yellowtail, are highlights on the “long” menu. No matter what, libations are always in order at this locals’ favorite gathering place. Everyone is welcome at Brophy's, hope to see you soon.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived without a booking, but got a good table within twenty minutes despite it being busy. They have a bar on the ground floor where you can wait, and they use buzzers to let you know when your table is ready.

We shared some calamari to start, and they were probably the best I've had. Batter is slightly spiced and came with two tasty dips. Perfectly cooked and not rubbery like some places overcook them.

My wife had the salmon for main and I had the swordfish. You get a choice of sides, including the option for a mug of chowder - which was delicious. I'd recommended getting the chowder this way, rather than as a standalone starter.

Waiter was really friendly and helpful with menu choices.

Definitely eat here rather than near the wharf.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 931oliverc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 2,255 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018

amazing fresh seafood in a lively bustling atmosphere, we felt like it was the place the locals go to eat.
we went for lunch and sat at the bar and enjoyed fantastic beer battered shrimp and calamari while we watched the barman shucking fresh oysters, all the food we saw being served looked great, and all at very reasonable prices too.
would defiantly recommend and will return when back in Santa Barbara.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank thekerseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Brophy Bros on the Wharf is always a great place to dine. A place highly frequented by locals. The fish is fresh and staff is friendly. Chowder is worth an order as well. Be prepared to wait during lunch and high peak dinner times. The wait is worth it though! Love everything on their menu. Super casual dining. Don’t expect an intimate, quiet experience. Its all laid back Santa Barbara dining. We go every time we’re in town

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank sbrennecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Our family of five enjoyed seafood pasta, fried clams, shrimp, and fish and chips - all were served hot and fresh, very tasty! Also had great drinks, well mixed. Very friendly staff, in a beautiful marina setting with amazing views. Will be back next time in SB!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank RunandTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

This folksy, noisy and quite pleasant fish place deserves a top spot for fresh fish without unnecessary or faddy additions. The formula of achieving a full meal by composing your dinner around the main fish or shellfish dish is very price competitive and of excellent quality. You do need time, because the wait may be substantial ( you get a buzzer and we went downstairs for a drink to shorten the time). and it is not the spot for private business talks, but anyone looking for unassuming freshness will be rewarded. HIGHLY recommended .

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank worldlaufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brophy Bros. also viewed

 

Been to Brophy Bros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing