We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
114
113
41
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
113
41
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark twain room gold rush ghost stories queen suite small kitchenette downtown placerville parking pass juice and coffee apple hill hot water continental breakfast free parking within easy walking distance restaurants and bars third floor mini fridge bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for one night on our way to Marshall Historic Gold Discovery Park.
Very old building with lots of artifacts.
Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room was lovely. Notices saying be patient. Hot water may take time to arrive! Was hot in seconds so we got lucky. Communal balcony to use. Take a drink with you and watch the world go by. (The hotel is not licenced for alcohol.....yet)
Take the lift if only for the experience.
Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Rooms are well remodeled while still keeping rustic feel. Hallways, lobby and exterior still have the feel of an 1800 hotel. Breakfast is only coffee and juice. Elevator is rustic and fits right in to experience. Second floor balcony a must for evening or early morning enjoyment

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Interesting historical location - worth a walk through the lobby even if you aren’t staying at the hotel!

The general manager, Josh, is so polite and professional. The rest of the staff was very accommodating as well.

We stayed in room 410, a Master Suite. It was spacious and nicely decorated. It had modern amenities but still retained a historic vibe.

Super impressed with our stay. We will be back!

Tips -

-There is no continental breakfast, but ask the front desk for discount cards to local restaurants.

-There is no pool, however, I discovered the public pool (complete with a water slide for the kiddos!) located only a 5 minute walk away. For anyone staying in the summer, this is a great place to stop by because it can get HOT in Placerville!

-Check our the ivy-covered courtyard, accessible from the breakfast area of the hotel. Absolutely gorgeous! There’s a cute little coffee shop in the courtyard called Totem Coffee - a good option for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

On a road trip and found this place. My granddaughter just loved it. Just can't stop talking about it. Staff was friendly. All the rooms are decorated differently. Public balcony that oversees the town. Rooms have comfy beds and pillows. Windows open for plenty of fresh air. Each room has fridge, micro and coffee pot. No continental breakfast. Free parking. Lobby has a lot of history on display. The glass windows of the seasons-- beautiful. The best was the antique elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wendystevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Vacation trip - room with a view of downtown Placerville. Near restaurants, bank and post office. Was able to mail my postcards before leaving town. Attended the arrival of the Wagon Train on Sat June 9....very momentous. Parking is provided by the hotel and included in the room rate. Our room had a microwave and small frig. Lots of hot water for a bath and opened our window for cool air during the evening/night. Wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room provided a chairs for reading/quiet time.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 282melindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews