We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good location, perfect for families”
other traveller has booked this property
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Johnny Redwood Living Room Entrance to Elk Meadow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Johnny Redwood Living Room
Entrance to Elk Meadow
Elk Meadow locals
Roosevelt Elk Cabin
Typical twin beds
Living Room
Typical Kitchen
Queen bedroom
Accessible Bath
Bunk beds for the Kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orick, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ladytroop...
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good location, perfect for families”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had reserved this spot for 3 nights for our vacation to see the Redwood forest. We were contacted days prior to arrival that they had mistakenly double booked us for our first night. They moved us to another house inside the city limits of Orick. We were disappointed to not be able to get settled right away. When we did arrive,(2 in the afternoon) the office was closed, and cell phones didn't work. Luckily, Brancine, the housekeeper was still onsite and after explaining the situation, she contacted the manager so that we could check in early. Brancine was amazing and made sure we were settled and everything was satisfactory. If it wasn't for her, we would have been very upset, as we had not received a door unlock code and we were never able to find someone at the front office.
The house itself was very nice. Comfortable and quiet. They could use some new sheets in unit 17. As the ones on the bed were pretty shot. It is within driving distance to all trailheads and beaches in the area. Nothing is really within walking distance, unless you don't mind walking on the highway. They say the elk wonder onto the property, but they didn't during our stay. There is a nice blackberry bush on the back side of the property, and we saw people filling baskets with fresh blackberries. A little overpriced for the area, but it was a nice quiet spot.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anirudh G
Redmond, Washington
1 review
“perfect vacation spot”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

we found the property by visiting redwood national park site and it was recommended by them. the place is beautiful,comfortable and very clean,totally as advertised!! we stayed for two nights ans wished we had stayed longer. The kitchen was perfect with all ameneties, the satellite internet is slow and we didn't have it for a day. The help is good but is available from 8-5 only, there is no cell reception so you can't reach out to them other than using the landline given by them which no one would pick up outside business hours.If you want to enjoy then get all the grocery with you so that you can cook, they even provide a gas barbeque but it was wet since we went in rain time. Despite the misses we still love the place as it was very serene. I just wish i had to pay lesser than $350 per night for Cabin #11 to make this stay worthwhile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, very clean and huge and so much fun to do inside.
Liked least: overpriced for special vacation periods.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhcbecker
Brea, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect location for a visit to the Redwood National Park. It's called Elk Meadows Resort and for once, the name actually is descriptive of the real thing. We only had to walk outside to see the elk that come to forage. We were between the small town of Orick and the entrance to the park, which was perfect. The cabins are actually newly- and well-constructed 3-bedroom ranch houses, complete with 1-car garages. Everything is well built and maintained, so there's never a fear of counters that aren't quite flush against the wall, exposing dark crevices, etc. Our cabin was well equipped in the kitchen, as well as throughout the rest of the house, so we never needed for supplies. All we brought was the groceries, as if we would were we home. There are about half a dozen of these "cabins" and so it's like a small neighborhood right in the middle of elk territory. There are some amenities which only add to the flavor of the experience. There are plenty of wonderful hiking trails nearby and walking amongst the majestic redwoods in the quiet of the forest is something everyone should strive to experience at least once in their lives.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cabins were new, clean and well-built.
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidROre...
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect launching for family adventure”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We held an extended family event here. We rented 5 of the 6 cabins for a party of 30. This was perfect! There is large field for young children and older children to play Frisbee, badminton or catch or any myriad of games. Just across the street from the houses is a firepit, where we had a fire one evening and cooked hot dogs and roasted marshmellows. It is just minutes from the beach. It is minutes from national parks and ranger led walks and tours. It is also a great launching point for mountain biking. A few of us went off on mountain biking trails leaving right from the cabins. This is only minutes from a UNESCO world heritage site. Our favorite event was hiking the Irvine trail in the Prairie Creek State Park down to Fern Canyon and the beach. Several made the hike from the visitor center. Those with young children drove to the beach and met us at the mouth of Fern canyon. Oh yes - elk do come by - take a photo. Want more? Kayaking at Stone Lagoon - only about 5 miles away - all in the midst of Giant Redwood trees! Perfect location. Comfortable homes, decorated nicely, washer, dryer - very nice for families with young children. Kitchens well stocked for cooking. Small insulated coolers in each home for packing picnic lunch. Orick isn't very big - so for a large group (like ours) you may want to plan on shopping on your way in - stop in Crescent City(north) or Eureka (south) for the bulk of your food supplies. Internet connection worked - most of the time - but the idea is to get away isn't it? What a perfect location! More to do than I could list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlaserTom
Demarest, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cabin (house, really) we stayed in for three nights was spotless and appeared to be brand new. Since Orick has few attractive restaurant options, we bought groceries in Eureka, and did a fair amount of cooking in the cabin. We were pleasantly surprised by how well equipped the kitchen was.

My only complaint was that the beds weren't as comfortable as I'd have liked (I tried two). My wife and daughter thought the beds were fine, though.

After 10 days of camping and hotel rooms, staying in this house was a great way to finish up our vacation.

On our last afternoon, we got a vist from a herd of elk who were grazing right in front of our cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely clean
Liked least: Generally very happy with the property, though I felt the beds could have been more comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing