We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
295
183
59
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
183
59
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool an ocean view room fish house valet staff valet parking is white noise generator per day top gun train station sliding door waffles small balcony free breakfast ocean front pool towels sitting area movie theater
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

This was an amazing stay from the moment we pulled up! Valet were so nice and Elllie checked us in. I'm not sure who was more excited us or Ellie that we were staying there. Her warm hospitality was very inviting. Lia was also there and went out of her way to make sure my family was taken care of (but that just us, she was
Ike that with all the guests!). Breakfast was amazing and my kids were in heaven!
So, let's talk rooms. They were AMAZING! We had 2 rooms and we just kept the middle one open so it was nice the kids had their own space. I love how big and CLEAN they were and bathrooms too! Yucky bathrooms are a huge pet peeve of mine and they were SPARLKLING!
Thank you Springhill for making this the best New Years ever!

Room tip: The second floor deck is amazing!
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Front Desk Lead at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations on their service and we appreciate you acknowledging Ellie's & Lia's efforts. We strive to provide the best quality of service to all our valued guests like yourself.

We are eager to have you back soon!

Thank you.
Phil Michael
Front Desk Lead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Just spent 7 night at this beautiful, modern and most pleasant hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and the location is unbeatable! The facility is designed in a contemporary and beautiful manner. Rooms (we had 2) are spotless, pleasant and spacious. The view from the pool and 2nd deck is amazing!! Unbelievable sun sets and breathtaking live surfing performances! The Pier is picture perfect and a great early afternoon walk. The proximity to the beach and to excellent dining is just perfect. We were concerned about the trains noise having a room facing the train, but it was really none issue, didn't bother any of us, we slept great! Breakfast is awesome, although it was quite busy in the last 45 mins before they close. We skipped the lines a few days to sleep in. The commute to Carlsbad, Del Mar, La Jolla, SD was well worth it, knowing that our peaceful clean and friendly place is waiting for us. We will certainly be back!

Room tip: ocean facing or top floors, if city facing,
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HadarSIngapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Front Desk Lead at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that we have to offer and that your stay was pleasant. We hope that if your travels take you out this way that you will be our guest again!

Kind Regards,
Phil Michael
Front Desk Lead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Good Hotel. Good location. The hotel has all the basics and then some. We had 4 rooms, us, the grand kids and adult kids. Besides a hot shower and clean room: friendly and helpful staff; Elsie at the front desk was very accommodating, friendly and very patient; our rooms were spacious, thermostat with forced air heating not one of those noisy heaters; contemporary furnishings with a good desk and a small sitting area with a couch and table, and free Wi-Fi that didn’t drop every 5 minutes.
We had a small balcony with a couple of chairs, and a great view of the beach and the pier. Breakfast was a notch up from the styrofoam plate places. They did have paper plates, but they were satisfactory. The kids and grand kids had the room next store, and we didn't hear a thing all night. They must have good insulation in these rooms. A lot of families were staying here, we saw them all at breakfast. We read a negative review about being noisy. We didn't think it was too noisy. Overall...a great place to stay.

Room tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view and balcony
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Front Desk Lead at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

We are delighted to hear about your recent stay with us! It sounds like you were able to experience the great location that SpringHill Suites Oceanside has to offer and We are delighted to hear that Elsie took good care of you. We hope that you and your family have an opportunity to visit us again.

Thanks,
Phil Michael
Front Desk Lead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

I have been a loyal Marriott customer for many years. This is by far the best SpringHill I have ever stayed at. Ellie, the front desk supv was amazing, professional, courteous and always with a smile.

Room tip: Ocean view on the west end - great view of the Pier.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Front Desk Lead at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations on their service and we appreciate you acknowledging Ellie's efforts. We strive to provide the best quality of service to all our valued guests like yourself and We are eager to have you back soon!

Thank you,
Phil Michael
Front Desk Lead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

The hotel is located next to the coastal rail track and the noise is unbearable - all night I was woken by horns and bells of the passing trains. I asked to move rooms and the reception staff were very unhelpful. I was supposed to have an ocean view room as part of a company group booking, but the sales department messed that up and I was asked to pay $50 a night surcharge. I refused to move. Breakfast in the hotel was dire - plastic knives and forks and paper plates. This is quite honestly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I will never be back and will not recommend Springhill Suites to anybody; quite the opposite. I am amazed that Marriott put their good name to this appalling hotel.

Room tip: You must have an ocean view room - all the others are adjacent to the main coastal railway line and the noise is unbearable.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarkySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil M, Front Desk Lead at SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2015

We are very sorry for any issues you experienced during your stay and we failed to meet your expectations and our own. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay with us it is appreciated.

Thank you,
Phil Michael
Front Desk Lead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews