We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Quiet Retreat With Local Trail Access And...”
Welcome to Caspar Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Caspar Cottage
our beautiful new Virgin Redwood handcrafted door thermostatically controlled European gas fireplace, leather chair, DirecTV w/HBO, satellite INTERNET
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Welcome to Caspar Cottage
our beautiful new Virgin Redwood handcrafted door
thermostatically controlled European gas fireplace, leather chair, DirecTV w/HBO, satellite INTERNET
comfortable queen bed with memory foam topper and nice linens
sunny living room with hardwood floor, sofa bed and original art
custom cabinets, fully equipped kitchen, coffee, fresh fruit, bread and flowers for our guests
beautiful marble tiled bath, jetted tub, large shower
side deck with chair and lots of flowers
from the cottage walk through the redwoods to the Russian Gulch State Park waterfall
kayak beautiful Big River
kayaking Big River
Mendocino perched on a peninsula overlooking the Pacific Ocean
looking north
Navarro River meets the sea
looking south to Cuffy's Cove
sunsets at Cabrillo Lighthouse
Mendocino from the air
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Mendocino, Mendocino County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shannon R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Quiet Retreat With Local Trail Access And All The Amenities!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at this cottage with my mother for a Mother's Day-My Birthday retreat. This place is fantastic. We had the perfect hosts and the cabin is well stocked with dishes, pans, silverware, robes, plenty of towels, soap, etc and even fresh flowers from the garden! Perfect place for a writer's retreat, best friends getaway, mother daughter weekend, or a romantic couple's retreat! Private but conveniently located close to the homeowners house who are very helpful and give plenty of guidance about the area and trails! The Russian gulch waterfall trail is an easy 3 mile round trip from the cottage that I highly recommend! Even just walking along the quiet country road was lovely with all the wild flowers in bloom! By car it's only a few minutes from Mendocino but you feel like you're in the middle of the woods. I would definitely go back and highly recommend Caspar Cottage to anyone looking for a nice getaway at a very reasonable price! Wish we could have stayed longer :)

-Shannon R

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Caspar Cottage. We try to think of everything that will make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We hope to see you back here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talltrees...
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything Perfect- Choose Caspar Cottage ! You will love it...”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife & I stayed at the Caspar Cottage for 8 days in late May, and couldn't be happier with the choice. Having stayed at different rentals over the years, sometimes what a picture shows, or is described...is different when you get there. CASPAR COTTAGE WE MUST SAY WAS BETTER, BEYOND OUR EXPECTATIONS. Diane was teriffic in getting back to us, working out details of the rental. Since the cottage is on their property, they are right there if any thing is needed. The cottage was very clean, well thought out in design. It is nicely situated in the woods, quiet...peaceful..and easy access to the ocean or a walk in Redwoods. Such a beautiful area, Mendocino...as we rounded the corner to the first view of the shore line, after driving through the Redwood Forest, we both commented how we wanted to retire here. Being from the East Coast, the shore is much different than back home, but it is more beautiful, and so far away :( Looking forward to returning some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, secluded, yet close enough to places of intrest
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melsenn29...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Vist to the Festival of Lights”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I should have written this sooner.

Our plan was to attend the lovely Festival of Lights at the Botanical Garden. Our weekend getaway started off with a big rain. Diane was good enough to remind us to check to see if 128 was flooded and suggest we take the alternative route. The primary route was flooded that day, so it was good we checked first. Thanks for the suggestion.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Diane and showed us around the lovely cottage and give all the details we needed to be comfortable. It has been a chilly day so she had turned on the heat to ensure we were warm from the moment we walked. The little kitchen was well stocked with breakfast goodies, good bread, juice, milk, fresh coffee. We brought in a few groceries so we had enjoyed breakfast at the cottage and a dinner and ate out for the duration of our stay.

The cozy cottage was nicely furnished, the bed very comfortable, located off the beaten path that provided beauty, tranquility and respite from busy day to day life.

We definitely visit again. Thanks Diane.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWLIllino...
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
9
people found this review helpful

Caspar Cottage was a lucky find. It is a smartly designed, beautifully built hideaway in the woods but just a few minutes from the charming town of Mendocino. Woodwork and tile is handsome. Sofas, couches and bed are good quality and quite comfortable. Bonus for us city dwellers: ultra-quiet nights and bright stars in the dark night sky.

Diane is the perfect hostess. She is pleasant, knowledgeable, and there when you need her to be. She gave us many great tips on touring the surrounds.

We have been vacation renters for over 20 years and Caspar Cottage was our favorite yet.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Caspar Cottage. It makes us happy when guests appreciate our hospitality and all the little details that make the cottage a special place. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan K
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dream Cottage In The Woods”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Without a doubt, staying in this hand-crafted cottage near the town of Mendocino was the best choice I made in planning my weekend vacation. The entire time my partner and I felt so at home, secretly wishing we could stay forever. We were completely blown away by the attention to detail and craftsmanship of each part of this cozy oasis. The kitchen is built to provide you the comforts of home, which made cooking breakfast or any meal a real treat. More than anything, the warmth and care provided by the owners surpassed all expectations. When we arrived we were greeted by Diane with a gracious welcome and a beautiful flower arrangement as well as fresh bread and jam. Her and her husband really go out of their way to make sure you have the most enjoyable stay. I definitely plan on returning soon! Thanks again!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
It brings us a lot of joy to share our little oasis with our guests. We are glad we exceeded your expectations. The first thing I do when guests leave is to read our guest book and sometimes it actually brings a tear to my eye along with a big smile. We do care about our guests. The guests who stayed with us just prior to you went down the trail into the redwoods to the waterfall rather late in the day (without flashlights) and after it got dark I realized they hadn't returned, so we walked down into the woods and found them and brought them home. Hospitality, it's what I do! We hope to see you back here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing