We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to visit again!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Marshall, Marin County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mes130
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Can't wait to visit again!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful, well-kept rooms and picturesque grounds. The hosts thought of all the little extras that made our stay comfortable and memorable. We especially enjoyed the tranquil views of the bay and the cows in the fields. The home is clean, well-appointed and spacious. With kayaking, hiking and beaches at our doorstep, our vacation was perfectly relaxing and rejuvenating. We will definitely be making a trip back to spend more time with friends and family around the hand-hewn redwood table!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So comfortable, well-appointed and relaxing.
Liked least: Wish we could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thanks for staying with us - we love Tomales Bay, too! :) // Michael Straus and the Straus family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klaven
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best House You'll Find in Tomales Bay!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wow...what a house and experience! It was an absolutely perfect stay for our group of 9 friends celebrating my fiancé's birthday. I would highly recommend the location if you want a getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Michael was the best host I've ever come across, which is a high compliment. He gave us an historical tour of the farm, the fields, the beach, the barns, and a great overview of the Straus Family Creamery history in the organic movement/land preservation of Marin County. Really amazing if you're into that sort of thing (which we are). So much history in Tomales Bay!

He then let us be to enjoy the property...which had everything. The kitchen is huge and fully stocked with all the oils, spices, condiments, specialty utensils (shucker!), kitchen gadgets (rice cooker), cast iron pans, gas grill, and even a nice care basket of Straus Creamery items. We bought 2 bags of hog island oysters to shuck in the afternoon, had fish tacos in the evening with all the sides, and a big farm breakfast the next morning. For dinner, we loved the huge table setting...with some day trippers coming up, 12 people fit around the table for dinner pretty comfortably.

The bedrooms...wow! All four of them are upstairs and are gorgeous. Lots of natural light, brand new beds, tasteful decor, and each had views of the bay or farm. The upstairs has such a cool wrap around deck that some friends hung out to play music on and some of us enjoyed star gazing after dark, such a cool feature. We had people go to bed at different times and the noise from downstairs didn't bother anyone trying to sleep earlier.

There was also a TV room (which we didn't use much, except for the 9th person who used the comfy pull out couch). We did use the piano and sitting room, with a baby grand that was used a lot :) Comfy, stylish couches-chairs and floor rugs that when we moved into that area. We also loved the big 1st floor wrap around porch, but spent most of the afternoon in the front yard and the patio area shucking/eating oysters, drinking wine, and enjoying a perfect sunny day. We also really enjoyed taking a stroll the nearby beach across highway 1 after dinner...I only wish we would have brought some firewood to enjoy the cool evening at the beach longer. Also a plus, no mobile phone service :) but great wifi for hooking up to spotify and posting your favorite pics instantly, ha.

I can't recommend the Straus Ranch enough...just go!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large kitchen and dining table
Liked least: Not having another night to stay :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure to host you and your group!! /// Michael Straus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keiko N
1 review
“Most beautiful historic house to stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We are honored to be the first guests to stay at Straus Home Ranch. This is the house the Straus Family lived before, and you can feel the warm hospitality the family always had. Renovated as a modern vacation house, the house still has the feel of the history and memories of the family. The owners, Michael and Vivian, are very friendly and pay attention to the details of the house. It is close to many attracted places such as Hog Oyster Company, Cow Girl Creamery and Point Reyes station. Surrounded by the beautiful nature, the house has both the convenience of the modern life and the nice atmosphere of the rural life. We are sure you will enjoy a most wonderful stay there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Indeed, you were our first guests, and it was a bit of a rush to get everything ready for your arrival ... sooo glad you enjoyed your stay and, truly, thank you for your encouragement and support!!// Michael Straus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$895
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing