We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pinheiro_Traveler

Pillows as a form of torture

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2024
I’ve always liked the Bonaventure primarily for its unique architecture, spacious rooms, and views of downtown LA. On our current stay we discovered that overstuffed, hard foam pillows are the only pillow option available to guests, even though the Marriott app still lists feather pillows as an option.

Hello sleepless nights and neck aches!

When I asked for feather pillows the answer was that the foam pillows are the only choice. And that was the end of it. It’s the second Marriott property where this happened this year, and will make me rethink staying with them, and I’m a lifetime platinum guest.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this review
Responded 4 May 2024
Pinheiro_Traveler, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We understand that you had concerns about the pillow options during your stay. We regret any confusion and want to emphasize that comfort of our guests is our highest priority. We'll definitely consider your feedback when reviewing the amenities provided in our rooms. We value your loyalty as a lifetime platinum guest and hope to continue welcoming you back in the future. Please do reach out to us directly next time, we are committed to ensuring your comfort and satisfaction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$600
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $563
  • Hotels.com
13.5 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
$607
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
13.2 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
$444
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $445
0.5 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Restaurant
Room service
Lobby
$286
  • Booking.com
  • Sheraton.com
    $286
  • Hotels.com
17.2 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
$285
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
0.9 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $332
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $323
  • Hotels.com
5.6 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $535
  • Algotels
9.6 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $531
  • Priceline
14.7 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • FourPoints.com
    $218
  • Priceline
16.7 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (3,556)
Filter reviews
3,556 results
Traveller rating
1,007
1,386
704
254
205
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,007
1,386
704
254
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving bar downtown la color coded huge hotel top floor valet parking bit dated staples center per night hollywood sign lobby conference starwood garage starbucks dtla doorman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3,556 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2024

My stay was a nightmare that I'm still dealing with since I was charged twice for my room. I left 2 messages for a manager to call me back and I have yet to receive a call. I'm livid! After waiting in line to check in for 2 hours, I was not provided with the room type that I reserved. I was forced to take a King room when I booked a traditional double. It was very uncomfortable. The room that I was given was next to the noisy elevator. It screeched all day and all night long. The room was not clean. The doors were dirty and the toilet had urine drops on the rim....so gross! The carpet in the hallway was stained and dirty. The Mexican restaurant in the lobby had tasteless food and had terrible service. The hotel lists food courts on 2 floors and there wasn't much there at all. I remember when that hotel was amazing some years ago, but that is no longer the case. It's run down and should be closed. It may be better use to house the homeless there.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dwill1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Will L, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel and Suites. I value and appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience. I have shared your feedback with the hotel leadership team to ensure that necessary steps are taken to prevent from happening again in the future. Thank you for staying with us. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2024

Disappointing to see a once great hotel left to rot by the Marriott Corporation.

Been staying here since the 90s and nothing has changed. Thought we’d try it last weekend. Great view —- and that’s it. Same bathrooms, same AC. Lobby hasn’t been updated in 20 years and seems very dead. Shops are all but gone.

Staff is still good. Location is fine — but try any of a half dozen nearby competitors and you’ll be better off.

Room tip: Don’t.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredcE3095DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Kalogeropoulos, Agency / Consultant at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

fredcE3095DA, it's unfortunate to hear that your recent experience wasn't as positive as your previous stays. It appears you've found certain aspects of our hotel to have remained unchanged over time. We'd like to clarify that our goal is to maintain a timeless aesthetic while ensuring our amenities meet modern expectations. Pleased to know our team members remain a high point in your visit. We appreciate your feedback and we're always striving to enhance our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

The Westin Bonaventure in Los Angeles, California was our home for 3 nights and we had a wonderful experience. It's central location made it perfect for travelers as it was close to all the major attractions. The hotel had great facilities and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We especially appreciated the daily housekeeping service which made us feel like we were coming back to our own home after a long day of exploring. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable and convenient stay in LA.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rich44_cadiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex Kalogeropoulos, Agency / Consultant at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2024

Rich44_cadiz, thank you for sharing your delightful experience at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles. It's great to hear that our central location was beneficial for your travel adventures. We're thrilled our team members left a positive impression with their helpful service and you enjoyed our daily housekeeping's finer touches. Your recommendation is truly appreciated. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for another comfortable and convenient stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently placed downtown and walking distance to a handful of restaurants. The lobby and design of the hotel are unique and nice, but it does feel a little dated. The rooms were uniquely shaped due to the circular towers but were adequate. Valet parking is the only parking option for $50/day. Our biggest issue with our stay was mainly the nightly street noise. I was surprised how much of the traffic you could hear up 20 floors. It may not bother some people but would recommend bringing some earplugs just in case. We’d stay here again in the future, though.

Room tip: Valet parking is $50/day. On busy weekends, allot 10-15 minutes to get your vehicle fetched due to high demand.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O1726QUrebeccam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

O1726QUrebeccam, thank you for your detailed feedback. It's pleasing to hear that you found The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites well-situated and appreciated its distinctive architecture. We regret that the outside noise was noticeable, and we understand the tranquility of your stay is important. For future visits, perhaps our team members can suggest rooms situated in quieter areas of the building. We're delighted that despite this minor issue, you plan to return. We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Why is there no place to sit down and eat lunch here? Totally disappointed in this massive property with so much wasted non-functional space.

I just want to sit down, order a salad and white wine and relax.

They should change the signage if there are no restaurants serving. Complete fail. I’ve walked a mile through this massive public space and STILL no place to eat expect the Starbucks on the lobby floor.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

318abigailw, we're sorry to hear that finding a suitable dining spot within our premises seemed challenging for you. It's indeed surprising as our goal is always to offer a wide range of amenities for our guests to enjoy. While we can't alter the signage, we'll certainly take note of your feedback. We also have several dining options that we believe could meet your desire for a relaxed meal. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused and hope for another chance to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews