We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rebecca F

Nice Downtown Stay for the LA Marathon

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2024via mobile
The hotel is conveniently placed downtown and walking distance to a handful of restaurants. The lobby and design of the hotel are unique and nice, but it does feel a little dated. The rooms were uniquely shaped due to the circular towers but were adequate. Valet parking is the only parking option for $50/day. Our biggest issue with our stay was mainly the nightly street noise. I was surprised how much of the traffic you could hear up 20 floors. It may not bother some people but would recommend bringing some earplugs just in case. We’d stay here again in the future, though.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Valet parking is $50/day. On busy weekends, allot 10-15 minutes to get your vehicle fetched due...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this review
Responded 21 Mar 2024
O1726QUrebeccam, thank you for your detailed feedback. It's pleasing to hear that you found The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites well-situated and appreciated its distinctive architecture. We regret that the outside noise was noticeable, and we understand the tranquility of your stay is important. For future visits, perhaps our team members can suggest rooms situated in quieter areas of the building. We're delighted that despite this minor issue, you plan to return. We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$383
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $380
  • StayForLong
    $294
  • Expedia.com
    $380
0.4 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
$584
  • Sheraton.com
    $557
  • Skyscanner.com
    $519
  • Expedia.com
    $557
13.5 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
$561
  • Expedia.com
    $529
  • Skyscanner.com
    $492
  • Hotels.com
    $529
13.2 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $349
  • Algotels
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $346
5.6 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
$483
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $483
  • Hotels.com
    $483
  • Preferred Hotels
    $483
9.6 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
$458
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $458
  • Skyscanner.com
    $326
  • Hotels.com
    $457
0.5 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Restaurant
Room service
$449
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $481
  • Vio.com
    $384
  • Expedia.com
    $463
14.7 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
$308
  • Skyscanner.com
    $237
  • StayForLong
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $308
0.9 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
$257
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $257
  • Priceline
    $257
  • Skyscanner.com
    $257
17.2 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
$231
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Skyscanner.com
    $192
  • FourPoints.com
    $233
16.7 km from The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (3,556)
Filter reviews
3,556 results
Traveller rating
1,007
1,386
704
254
205
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,007
1,386
704
254
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving bar downtown la color coded huge hotel top floor valet parking bit dated staples center per night hollywood sign lobby conference starwood garage starbucks dtla doorman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 3,556 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Why is there no place to sit down and eat lunch here? Totally disappointed in this massive property with so much wasted non-functional space.

I just want to sit down, order a salad and white wine and relax.

They should change the signage if there are no restaurants serving. Complete fail. I’ve walked a mile through this massive public space and STILL no place to eat expect the Starbucks on the lobby floor.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

318abigailw, we're sorry to hear that finding a suitable dining spot within our premises seemed challenging for you. It's indeed surprising as our goal is always to offer a wide range of amenities for our guests to enjoy. While we can't alter the signage, we'll certainly take note of your feedback. We also have several dining options that we believe could meet your desire for a relaxed meal. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused and hope for another chance to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024 via mobile

This hotel is initially confusing. The WiFi in our room did not work. And the pillows were too thick for sleeping. I asked but could not get a thinner one.

The staff is lovely. The room is large. The buffet breakfast is the best I have had in the US.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank knowsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Knowsnyc, your feedback is appreciated. We're delighted to know that The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles provided a remarkable buffet breakfast experience, and our spacious rooms and amiable team members greatly added to your stay. We're aware that some aspects of your visit, such as an issue with in-room WiFi and finding our bedding to your liking, fell short of expectations. Please know your comfort is our priority and we're always eager to assist in ensuring your stay is flawless. Thanks again for your kind words and review. Hoping to welcome you back soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024

The Westin Bonaventure is a nice hotel in downtown LA though it's past its former glory. You can feel the 80s/90s glamour. There used to be many restaurants and some shops on floors 3 through 6 as a mini shopping center but now only a handful remain. CafeNOW on the lobby floor is actually a Starbucks (it shows as Starbucks on the hotel bill) so it's a good option for lighter meals. Didn't try LA Prime on the top floor cause it's too expensive. Décor looked tired but room was nice with everything just fine, except the water pressure in the shower was not very strong. As a Bonvoy Platinum, was upgraded to a larger room though my elite nightly upgrade request to a suite did not clear. Loved my two bottles of water daily as well as the empty mini-fridge and in-room coffee/tea 😀. There were no bathrobes or slippers, even though the hotel website lists bathrobes as a bathroom amenity. The website also lists a weight scale but my room didn't have any. Also got 1,000 points as a welcome amenity (instead of breakfast; your choice). They do not have a club/elite lounge. Location in downtown LA is love-it or hate-it: centrally located to see the sights with transportation but not much at walking distance and unsure about safety at night (did not go out walking at night though I did not see any bad-looking elements during the day either so it felt safe.) Rented a car and parking is valet-only for $49 plus tax (the hotel website is misleading as it implies there is self parking by listing on-site parking in addition to valet parking.) You can call in from your room to save time in getting the car by the time you come down to get it but one night it took 25 minutes!!! 😠; I told the guy I had reservations, he apologized and told me they would make an adjustment to my bill but they didn't adjust sh*t! Otherwise, customer service was fine; a couple of room requests were fulfilled promptly and they even brought in a microwave by mistake but it was good to know that they can deliver microwaves for free upon request. Pool looked nice (didn't use), exercise room looked decent (didn't use), and one of the companies still remaining on the "shopping center" floors is a spa (didn't use). All in all, a very good stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MBWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Thank you for your detailed insight regarding your stay at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles. We are thrilled you appreciated our hotel's unique charm and enjoyed our room amenities, including the complimentary water and in-room coffee/tea facilities. We note your comments regarding the decor and the missing amenities. This feedback will help us improve our guest experience.

We're glad you enjoyed our central location, allowing you to take in the sights of LA, and are pleased to hear that you found our on-site options for meals and relaxation to be convenient. We apologize if there were any setbacks with the valet service. We thank you for highlighting our team's prompt response to your requests and the additional amenities provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

This was the most expensive hotel I ever stayed in; it was also one of my most memorable architectural experiences. The view from our 30th floor matched their impressive interior design throughout this extraordinary Los Angeles landmark where I had wanted to stay for decades.

Their staff were equally spectacular. Everyone associated with this hotel made me believe they wanted me to enjoy their workplace as much as they took pride in being part of a team of first-rate hospitality professionals.

We especially were delighted with our affordable dinners at the Lobby Court; my husband said his chicken fajita was one of the tastiest ones he's ever eaten. I appreciated their servers. We arrived exhausted and hungry, and their recommendations and thoughtful actions left us relaxed and satisfied.

I ranked it a four instead of a five because I couldn't rate it 4.5. This place and its employees are terrific, but I am frugal, and it was as fabulous as the handful of "5-rated" hotels that were half what I paid to stay here.

Room tip: If you are on a fixed income, take time to book when their rates are lower, so you might have as lovely of a time as my husband and I did without the sticker shock.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MarriedWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share that your stay at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles was one of your most memorable architectural experiences. We pride ourselves on these unique design features and must agree, the views from the upper floors are indeed exceptional.

It's wonderful to hear that our team members met your expectations and contributed to making your experience enjoyable. We're also pleased to hear the Lobby Court dinners were to your liking, especially the chicken fajita.

We understand budget considerations and while we aim to deliver value commensurate with the experience, we appreciate your perspective and your candid feedback. It's guests like you that allow us to continually improve our services and offerings. We hope to see you again soon, should you decide to indulge in another memorable experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin Bonaventure for a long weekend. The lobby is expansive with nice water features. There is also a 24 hour coffee shop. The front desk was friendly and able to accommodate our request to have our rooms close together. My daughters loved the elevators that “broke through the roof” and took us outside to deliver us to our floor. The beds were comfy but the rooms were a little outdated. The pool area was nice, but the pool was not heated and there is no hot tub. We also enjoyed our visit to the revolving lounge, which had spectacular LA views. Overall a wonderful stay and we would recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank bopqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheWestinBonavenGM, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, Los Angeles for your long weekend. It's heartening to hear your family found our team members friendly and that your daughters enjoyed our unique elevators. We further appreciate your recommendations for our rooms and pool area and have noted them for our continuous improvement efforts. It's thrilling to know you savored the panoramic Los Angeles view from our revolving lounge. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews