We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Redavocet
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Clean, Comfortable & Convenient

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2024via mobile
Hotel's Favourite
Very easy to find & super clean. Room was of a good size & lovely walk in shower although not that powerful. View of the car park from our room. Car park was small but secure behind a gate & included in price. Staff were friendly & happy to help. Breakfast was coffee/Tea with a pastry or cake - some fruit would have been good. Would definitely stay again - area was safe to walk around. Handy for highways 101 & 110
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Arrive early to get a car parking space or it would be paid street parking
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$528
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    $528
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.6 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
$494
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
12.4 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
$396
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $397
  • Expedia.com
    $396
1.2 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Restaurant
Room service
$281
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
1.6 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
$321
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
3.6 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
$191
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
16.8 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
SHR LosAngelesLAX Exterior Full Dusk
$278
  • Tripadvisor
    $278
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
17.1 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $330
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $458
  • Algotels
8.8 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $210
  • Priceline
4.7 km from The Metric - Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
455
295
48
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
455
295
48
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown la per night neighborhood parking freeway dtla uber california
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023

Formerly known as the popular Jerry's Motel, this wonderful family-managed property is brand new, having been rebuilt and renamed as The Metric. The rooms are high tech, quiet and extremely clean, with modern fixtures and very high-speed internet, which was appreciated! Room size seems fine for short stays, maybe slightly more challenging for extended visits (as ours was) since storage space is limited. Still, with a little bit of space organization we were able to make do!

We had a very comfortable king bed and enjoyed wonderful free gourmet coffee and breakfast pastries each morning which were provided in the lobby for guests. The location is on a residential street next to downtown Los Angeles, and is a quick drive close to everywhere worth seeing, and actually within close walking distance of the Bellwether LA, a new music venue.

Finally, one of the best features for us was the free parking for hotel guests, which is a HUGE plus for people visiting LA. We were grateful to make our way home to the Metric each evening and not have to worry about whether or not we would find a parking space.

Huge thanks to management for making our stay even better. Wishing them many, many years of success and we definitely plan to be back.

Definitely recommend!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ArzuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Experience Team, Owner at The Metric - Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Hello!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at The Metric! It was so wonderful having you back! We're glad you had such a great experience and that our location worked out so well for your time in LA. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!



- Team Metric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2023

Highly recommend!!!! The hotel is super clean, comfy and convenient. The coffee machine in the lobby is a nice touch, the parking is secure and the place smelled amazing. I would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michellesF3682BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2023

This is a fairly small facility consisting of 5 floors total and 3 floors of actual guest rooms (plus/minus) with about 9 rooms on each floor so the staff can provide genuine guest hospitality and the staff at the front desk - we met Rosalynn (sp) and Summit (sp) - were especially outstanding. Real personalized and super-friendly service.

The room was virtually brand new & immaculate. Absolutely spotless. Furnishing were "minimalist" - more Scandanavian than US in style - which is not a criticism. Bathroom was large, well-lit, with a delightful shower: glass doors/double shower spouts. Bed was towards the softer side - either you like that or don't. Pillows were just right. Breakfast was sparse but delicious: a versatile hot beverage machine with choices from double-shot espresso to cappuccino to coffee americano created on the spot and a selection of tasty and highly caloric baked treats from the neighborhood artisan baker.

The room was also dead quiet - real solid construction obviously. The room doors are all dampened so no door-slamming noise or hallway noise. This isn't the Biltmore - no visitors are permitted and security is robust by virtue of the way the building is set up with a gated parking entrance and a key card requirement to gain entry into the building and to use the elevator. Smartly thought-out.

Location is slightly to the west of DTLA, 4 blocks west of the 110 Harbor Freeway. We walked there in about 10 minutes; maybe 3-5 minutes by Uber. We felt safe walking during daylight but not sure about nighttime which probably applies to most locations in downtown LA. The hotel neighborhood seems pretty decent but we didn't really explore it.

Wifi was free and reasonably fast.

Pricing was more than fair given the quality product. We booked directly with the hotel and received a discount vs. using one of the OTAs. No points earned but significant $$ saved.

Overall, a truly great place to stay if you don't mind being slightly away from the downtown LA action - that's the tradeoff to consider.

Room tip: Book directly for a lower price than the OTAs although no reward points, of course.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lafayette74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GuestXperience Team, Owner at The Metric - Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided excellent hospitality. It's great to know that you found your room to be immaculate and that you appreciated the minimalist Scandinavian style. We're also glad that you enjoyed the complimentary baked goods thanks for our friends at Homeboy Bakery.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Hope to see you again next time!

- Team Metric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2022

I selfishly want to keep this place a secret by not writing a review...but it's too good not to share. The perfect boutique hotel with a great location (THE best location if you're going to LA Center Studios) in downtown LA. Everything is brand new, squeaky clean, and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable about the city. And to top it all off, they have free espresso/coffee, filtered water, and pastries in the morning from Homeboy Bakery. Really can't say enough good stuff about this place.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2022

I was very reluctant to stay somewhere so close to DTLA, due to the unsafe feeling from all of the homeless as well as crime. However, The Metric has a completely enclosed and gated parking area which made my wife and I feel safe from minute one. Then the rooms are very clean and simple. The only issue is the price, of course. I just don’t think $375 per night including the $20/day to park is conducive to traveling 6hrs away from Northern California.

Date of stay: July 2022
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Thrasherman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews