We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jan L

Great hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2024
Freehand is a great hotel in Los Angeles. The building is really nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The service is top notch. Very friendly and helpful team members. The amenities are exceptional. Good food and drinks here as well. Great place.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2024
What a wonderful review! Thank you, Jan. Happy to see that you loved the hotel and staff. Let's get you back staying with us again very soon!

Thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$345
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $445
1.0 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Restaurant
Room service
Lobby
$286
  • Booking.com
  • Sheraton.com
    $286
  • Hotels.com
16.5 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
  • Sheraton.com
    $627
  • ZenHotels.com
    $563
  • Hotels.com
14.0 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $576
  • Expedia.com
    $606
13.8 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Pool
Restaurant
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Vio.com
    $319
  • Hotels.com
6.3 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $440
  • Expedia.com
    $535
10.0 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $480
  • Priceline
    $487
15.2 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $459
  • Priceline
    $526
10.0 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $203
  • FourPoints.com
    $218
16.1 km from Freehand Los Angeles
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Los Angeles
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
266
155
93
62
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
266
155
93
62
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared room rooftop bar broken shaker exchange restaurant whole foods bed dorm downtown la enjoyed my stay cool hotel boutique hotel per night dtla bunk roommates lobby hostels hip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2024

Such a great boutique hotel. The amenities and facilities are amazing. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is excellent. Such a beautiful hotel in a great area. Would highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allison_TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Thank you so very much for the kind review, Allison. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to provide you with great service and a memorable experience.

We do hope you choose to visit us again very soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

This hotel was a dream experience come true! The rooms were beautiful, the staff were very welcoming and attentive, and the amenities were endless.The restaurant had amazing food and the drinks were almost too delicious. I really cannot say enough great things about this place. 10000/10 experience. I would recommend everyone stay at this hotel!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

What an absolutely fabulous review. Thank you for posting. We are so happy you had a great stay with us recently and cannot wait for you to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

I stayed at Freehand for 4 nights in Feb 2024. I was in LA for a work meeting and for some reason, this is the hotel my company recommended. I wish I had done more research ahead of time and chosen a different place to stay.

Cons
- Half of this hotel is actually a hostel with dorm rooms, and it definitely has hostel vibes. Large groups of young, loud guests hanging out in the hallways and staying up late into the night was unpleasant. One night was so loud I had to call the front desk because of the noise. They sent security up and it did quiet down after that, but having a poor night of sleep for a work event was horrible. My coworker who stayed at the same hotel, different floor, had the same issue the following night.
- The room itself felt like a prison room. Everything is old, and not in a cool vintage way as it may seem in their pictures. The lighting is very dim and there was no natural light because of how close the hotel is to the next building. The lights are motion activated, so they were constantly turning off - even while in the middle of showering. The set up of the room was very confusing and small and there were not enough outlets.
- The location was also horrible, it felt like I was staying on skid row. People were getting into fights at the front door while we were trying to enter and it did not feel safe. It's directly across the street from sketchy bars
- When I flew in, it was pouring rain, so hoped to get dinner at the hotel restaurant with my coworker but their restaurant is closed on certain days (i think sundays and mondays?). They also ran out of umbrellas.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Thanks for the feedback. We are very sorry you did not have a great stay with us recently. Only a small part of the hotel has the dorm room concept. Vast majority are private king rooms and we run our facility as a full-service hotel. Our apologies regarding the noise you experienced and happy we were able to get it quieted down. Regarding our location, we are actually at the epicenter of all that is in DTLA. We are directly across and nearby many stores, restaurants, cafes, shopping, etc...walking distance to the convention center, Crypto.com Arena, Pershing Square and more. DTLA is DTLA and it is an urban area with many of the same issues all of LA and most other major cities are dealing with now. Regarding our design, we understand it is not for everyone's taste.

Our apologies once again that you did not enjoy the hotel or location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Excellent hotel...clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and efficient staff, excellent food. Plus, views from the roof-top pool and bar were wonderful and we could understand why the film industry uses it. We will stay at the Freehand again!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Xeno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

What a wonderful review! Thank you so very much. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed our staff and hotel and do hope you visit again soon!

We truly appreciate your patronage.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

No wardrobe doors , no working safe . outside consisted of homeless folk the smell of crack and meth , decent hotel bad area . The decor was yellow and the whole hotel was very dimly lit , i think this might have been purposely done , but not our taste

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rich Oken, General Manager at Freehand Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Hello and thank you for the feedback. We are sorry you did not have a great stay with us recently. Sincere apologies regarding the safe. These can easily be "reset" but apologies there was an issue in the first place. DTLA is what it is. Our location is actually the best in DTLA but we do have issues much the same as other urban areas around the country. Though we rarely have any issues we can understand the concern. Apologies as well that the hotel design was not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews