We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second visit - even better than the last”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Peter Tavy, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MinDragon
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second visit - even better than the last”
Reviewed 14 July 2021 for a stay in June 2021

This was our second visit and we stayed for two weeks this time, and loved it even more than the last! It was lovely to see Elaine, Robert and Pebbles again. They are such great hosts, so welcoming, friendly, and always helpful with suggestions on places to visit and explore.
The cottage is so welcoming and cosy, especially the new comfy sofas. There's everything we wanted there. The view from the cottage is amazing. We particularly enjoyed our meals in the garden, listening to the birds and enjoying the calm tranquillity.
We have no hesitation on recommending this amazing cottage with the opportunity to walk for miles on the moors and tors right from the front door - Lydford Gorge was just one of our favourite days. It’s also within easy reach of a wide range of sights by car. Thank you Elaine, Robert and Pebbles. We will definitely return in the near future!

Date of stay: June 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinDragon
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, location, walks, moors and streams, great pubs and brilliant hosts.”
Reviewed 23 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020
3
people found this review helpful

Just what an amazing week! The photos really don’t do this beautiful, warm and welcoming cottage justice. It far exceeded our expectations. The property was thoroughly cleaned and spotless; we felt very safe.
Moorview is a perfect location for a peaceful holiday, with stunning views, whatever the weather. Being an upside down house, there are views right across the valley. At night it is perfectly dark, and you can see so many stars while the owl hoot in the distance.
We really enjoyed being able to leave the car secure at the cottage whilst we set off on adventurous walks over the moors and wanders along pretty streams, returning in time to go to the Peter Tavy pub for dinner! (Yummy) There is a wide variety of things to do and see within a short drive. Make sure you visit the independent shops in the friendly town of Tavistock.
The week provided all the rest and recuperation we needed. Thank you so much to our amazing hosts, Elaine, Robert and of course Pebbles for making such a relaxing holiday possible. We’ve already booked our return next year.

Date of stay: September 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Moorview Cottage

It was lovely to meet you both and to hear that your holiday with us had exceeded your expectations

We look forward to seeing you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoPolo...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A terrific cottage in a beautiful part of Devon. Very comfortable and well-maintained with a splendid living room complete with huge TV screen! We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Moorview and recommend It wholeheartedly.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karniexxx
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views in peace and quiet with a great pub down the road.”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely converted barn with living areas on the 1st floor so you have a beautiful view of Dartmoor. Elaine & Robert who own the property are so helpful and very friendly. Peter Tavy Inn about 20 minute walk serves excellent beer and good home cooked food. Tavistock is nearby too. All in all a good location for a holiday cottage.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.