We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular Location and Adorable Cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Jolla, San Diego, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ColoradoF...
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Spectacular Location and Adorable Cottage!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

You're in La Jolla, with beautiful cliffs, seals, dolphin, and in an adorable little cottage 1 street from the beach. In the morning you have a beautiful view of the ocean, and breathtaking sunsets only steps from your front door. I traveled with my spouse and 2 children. Although it was a little cramped, we had enough room to come and go. The amenities were perfect, grocery store within walking distance (maybe 1 mile) or drivable for large runs. We booked this cottage through Blue Water Vacations, and they were very professional. Would recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison c
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very noisy and smelly”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are staying in the above property for the 2 nd time and came back as we liked the location and also the property . We are not as enamoured this year as we have been woken each morning by rubbish collectors who seem to sit outside this property and make a tremendous noise.
The other concern is a 2 inch cockroach that was also staying at the property with us plus the really bad smell of maggots in the kitchen ( I'm half expecting to find a dead body hidden somewhere ) .
Don't think we will be visiting here again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Well, this comes as quite a surprise, and seems rather harsh. We've had nothing but positive reviews here, so we were very alarmed to see this. This came in the middle of the stay, and the guest continued their stay after writing it. Unfortunately we had no contact from the guest prior to receiving this review, but upon receipt, immediately called and sent a team member to inspect. There were some workers outside and were working on concrete and pipes, so there's the noise, and the only thing we can possibly imagine is that the smell came from the work on pipes outside. The inspector scoured the home, but was unable to discover anything else, and just to be sure looked under everything, but couldn't come up with a dead body, so I think we're safe there! Seriously though, we do everything possible to provide clean and comfortable accommodations, and we tried calling the guest 2 more times to get to the bottom of this, but have not been able to reach them. They have since checked out, and it seems now all is well at the home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne...
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Perfect location one block from the ocean and one block from the village. Cottage is just as described and photos are an accurate representation. It was very clean, had beautiful near new towels and bed linen and a well equipped kitchen. The management company was great to deal with.

To note, it is fairly small so best suited for a couple at the most (maybe with one small child). The bathroom is off the bedroom and the toilet is off that. So anyone sleeping on the sofa bed has to go through the bedroom. Bathroom is tiny but adequate.

Also, this is the heart of the village so there is noise from people using the stairs/lanes down each side of the property, trash collection for commercial properties each morning, doof doof music noise from cars, construction from nearby renovations. At other times it was dead silent and we could hear the waves crashing on the shore.

Parking was a nightmare. If you plan on exploring the village/cove you won't need to drive. But if you're heading to wider San Diego area each day be prepared to drive around looking for a park 1-2 blocks away.

Overall we loved it and would thoroughly recommend it. We also recommend breakfast at Cody's around the corner. Don't be put off by the wait time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Casa de las Olas. We're so glad that you enjoyed the home and your experience. Sorry you had some trouble parking. It's usually not a problem, but we do offer a pass for the local garage in summer months when it's more crowded. We hope you visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retiredho...
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location location location in La Jolla”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Quaint beach bungalow steps away from La Jolla cove, restaurants and shopping along Prospect street. Interior interesting mix of retro and more modern amenities. Pictures are very accurate but overall space is only good for a couple. Single bathroom is tiny and no counter space but sports a steam shower/tub combo. Kitchen and outdoor grill made cooking meals easy but lack of dishwasher tempered use. Parking can be a treasure hunt but owners thoughtfully offer off site parking garage pass for summertime use. Management company very easy to work with and very responsive to maintenance requests. Perfect spot for vacationing couple without kids!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing