We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveller rating
1,096
319
136
65
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,096
319
136
65
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink lady whaling bar beautiful hotel ocean view san diego rooms are small center of la jolla sea lions valet parking valet service southern california the entire staff shops and restaurants villa bobby med shannon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2021

We are local to the area and spent 1 night staycation. Great ocean view room. Staff members were wonderful at front desk, restaurant and pool. Only downside was restaurant closed early (8:00 pm) due to Covid.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D_No919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Dear D_No919,
Thank you for choosing La Valencia for your staycation. From the front desk to our restaurant team, we're thrilled to hear you experienced the warm hospitality of our staff. We appreciate your support and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Would recommend. Recently remodeled. Great views. Great service. The staff was great, always helpful, especially Mark. Food and servers great. Housekeeping great! Views great. Guests respectful and quiet.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jimD694CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Dear Jim,
Thank you for recommending La Valencia Hotel. It's always our pleasure to hear when our team helps make the guest experience memorable. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Mark and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

I had an Ocean View that was the perfect way to wake up every morning. Sometimes heard the bark of the sea lions, which was a real treat. The ocean view is a definite must for those who love the Pacific Waves. My stay at La Valencia bumps up to very good based on the Ocean View.

What needs work (especially due to the high price, I expected luxury and quality service but received average/standard service)

Ratings from A+ to F

Room cleanliness- D
(room needs deep cleaning. Faucets covered in limescale. Carpets not vacuumed. Patio furniture filthy.)
Amenities- C
(little to none available)
Front desk staff- C
(3 out of 5 experiences with front desk were awful)
Villa proximity to front desk- C-
(little privacy from street level. Walking up and down stairs very inconvenient)
Housekeeping- D
(carpet never vacuumed)
Room service- B
(food- B -; first server- A +; second server- D)
Guest services- C-
(staffer said she thought I was an employee)
Technology- D
(fireplace remote must be replaced)

What was absolutely divine-
Spa-like bathroom in Ocean View Villa- A+
(Best bathroom ever!)
Shower was like a sauna: divine!
Jacuzzi was perfection!
The closet- A+
The fireplace- A+
The bed- A+
COVID precautions- A+
Sound proofing- A+
(I recommend a door draft stopper)

I’m not sure I would stay here again due to the high cost.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank rhythmchyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Dear R.M.,
It was our pleasure to welcome you to La Valencia Hotel in the heart of La Jolla. We are especially pleased to hear you enjoyed your ocean view villa. We appreciate your detailed review and have shared your comments with our front desk team to continuously enhance the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to the Pink Lady.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

I took my Dad for a 5 day get away and birthday celebration and we had a fabulous time. The hotel is quaint, well maintained, the staff are friendly and kind, the pool is out of this world; excellent amenities and location.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank noshene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Dear noshene,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your dad to celebrate in La Jolla. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back soon to La Valencia Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

Everything about our stay, from the arch to architecture of the room and design of the hotel, to the food, service, location, and amenities, was the epitome of quality, class, comfort, and luxury. We will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise Dewhurst, Marketing at La Valencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Dear Rosemary,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at La Valencia Hotel. From our central location to our award-winning restaurant, we're thrilled to hear your stay with us exceeded your expectations. On behalf of our team, we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews