We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful but small cottage with easy access to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Dock over at Gil's Restaurant, just around the corneer
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
Great beach cottage in quaint fishing & vacation town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Eureka, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
5973scl
Orange City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but small cottage with easy access to waters and Humbolt county”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just south of Eureka, CA, this little cottage, is great for 2 people. Although the sofa makes into a bed, it would be really cramped if opened. Clean, secure, nice neighbors, and just steps from the beach.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2018
Thank you for taking time to leave a review, we always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests! We haven't had any feedback from guests that slept more than two feeling cramped, but understand that each guest may feel differently. Thank you for your insights, and we would really love to have you back the next time you visit the North Coast!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L
EP
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cottage”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Really darling cottage and very private yard great for the dogs. The nearby bay front is great for walking the dogs. However the neighborhood is very shabby, next to a unkempt trailer park, and doesn't warrant the overall price (we paid $445 dollars for 2 adults and 2 dogs for 2 nights!!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Hi and thanks for the feedback. We do disclose the location and even provide photos for viewing before booking. The neighborhood shouldn't distract from the value of the nice pet friendly cottage (your price also included pet fee, taxes, and cleaning fee). If you need to find the best locations for fishing or beachcombing just ask the neighbors! Thank you for choosing Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals, with over 100 vacation homes on the North Coast. Something for everyone!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol p
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly as Advertised!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent two weeks at Shell Cottage with our Golden Retriever, and we all felt right at home. There were no surprises other than good ones and we truly enjoyed our stay…so much so that we already booked another week for this summer! My family lives in the area and we try to make several trips a year to visit. Now that we have discovered this clean, comfortable and convenient pet friendly cottage, we will try to plan our trips when it is available. We enjoyed meeting some of the neighbors, and the management staff was great to work with from beginning to end. Having a beach with beautiful views right across the street was a huge plus and we took advantage of some spectacular days. We are already looking forward to our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and Comfortable AND pet friendly
Liked least: No washer and Dryer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
We are so grateful you loved this place! Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoM...
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Beautifully upgraded property, very unique location and experience for area”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

To me this is a REALLY unique property and experience. Living in So Cal for most of my life, after being born in SF, this is to ME what a lot of the coast of Northern California USED to be like.

There are MANY more pro's than con's!!

PRO's:
Very "coastal" experience and charm. From what we have researched, property was purchased and remodeled EXTENSIVELY in the last 5 years (since 2015). From the kitchen to windows to jetted large tub with tiled enclosure, this is I assume a property used by owners and loved as well as rented out. GREAT amenities such as EXTRA large flat screen in living room and second tv in bedroom. Outside has classic blue and white paint and yard has been done very nicely with lots of what I called "Pismo Clams" as a kid around the yard.

You are yards away from trails that go to the shores of the bay. You are also close walking distance to a GREAT local restaurant called "Gills" - a dont miss while here for breakfast or lunch.

Perfect for a dog also. Our pooch loved the front AND backyard with grass. Has tile on floor which is good as yard and area has LOTS of dark sand. Has a nice wood deck in back as well as a large BBQ.

Well secured property with lock on front and back (to dock) gate. Also has alarm. You feel very private in this little serene hide-away!!

CONS:
First as has been noted by a prior reviewer this is across from a trailer park. NOTE this is a lower working class neighborhood where some folks with money have come in and remodeled a few of the properties such as this. If you are expecting a fancy on the water place, externally this is NOT it. But in Mendicino or Ft Bragg I am sure something even close would be 2 to 3 times the cost/night.

NOTE also this does NOT have a washer/dryer. So if you will be staying a week or more you need to find a spot to do laundry - not sure if there are facilities in the trailer park. If you have kids and a dog you should check into this.

To ME this reminds me of what Half Moon bay was like in the 60's when I was a kid. Before the hipsters and surfers found it, Half Moon bay was a working class town with places you could buy abalone fresh off the boat. Now it has coffee shops and the Ritz Carlton.

As to safety, despite the scruffiness of some of the neighbors, I did not feel unsafe as a female going out by myself. Would I roam around at night by myself and leave the doors unlocked? probably not. But I wouldnt do that staying in Arcata either - in arcata we stayed on the plaza and I felt MUCH more unsafe as we literally had to walk AROUND drunk homeless folks who lived there.

Would I stay here again - YES!!! If we lived in the bay area I would be up here a LOT!!!

With taking our daughter to HSU, this is our 4th visit to the greater Arcata/Eureka area. Have stayed in a "vanilla" hotel north of Arcata and 2 other rentals. Originally rented this for May as was only property available during graduation season (as is a bit farther from HSU). We needed to change to March. Owners were very accomodating with this. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaintness of the cottage and decor, as well as large yard
Liked least: no washer dryer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thanks for that great review as you hit all the right notes in our description! yes, it is near a trailer park, but those are long term tenants and are quite helpful and know all the great fishing holes. they even out the trash out for us every week. Gils' by the Bay-yes don't miss it! Dogs & Kids! Great fenced in area and beach near by. The trailer park does have a coin-op laundry facility that our guests are free to use. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalTravel...
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean & functional, no problems.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

All was fine for family of 3. We loved walks along the adjacent shore. Didn't utilize small dock on the little channel out back, but seemed to be an adequate launch for rowboat or kayak. Location was great for our needs; moderate drives to several state and national redwood forests and parks; a short hop to downtown Eureka.
Only negative was absolutely no view from anywhere in the cottage. We weren't bothered by neighbors, but if you are looking for swank look elsewhere - lots of salty dwellings in the surrounding trailer park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bay
Liked least: lack of view
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Shell Cottage is great. We encourage vacationers to bring kayaks and canoes and utilize the back dock. Next visit, please plan to bring some! We do have rental agencies in the area for this type of equipment. The neighbors are just fine and can be helpful with directions to anywhere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing