We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welk Resort San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Door(Escondido)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,748)
Filter reviews
1,748 results
Traveller rating
758
548
195
118
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
758
548
195
118
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesan diegorec centercanyon grillbedroom unitfull kitchenfarmers markettimeshare tourmountain villaharmony hillwhelkstimeshare presentationair hockeyboulder springsparking passtimeshare exchangewasher and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,748 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We usually stay here for several weeks as part of a winter vacation. Being there for an extended time we really get to know our way around the resort and area. It begins to feel like home. This year we brought family for a week as well.
The size and amenities of the units allows you quality time to spend with family and friends. We spent many days enjoying the view from of room, barbecuing great local meat, sipping wine or making margaritas.
The gym at this resort is just amazing. Carlie and Sophie are so personable and courteous greeting everyone by name upon arrival. They both give awesome fitness classes with something for everyone. The Aqua fit was great, bringing their own personal touch to each class. They keep the gym immaculate. I came in late afternoon when no one was there and found them cleaning the equipment and washing the glass.
Front desk experience with Dan and Manny from Cabo is always a breeze. Very helpful and eager to please. Ashley who answered any questions I had when I called is so accommodating and pleasant. I remember speaking with her in previous stays, always so nice.
Had no problem with the wifi the first week and then had none. Called everyone everywhere for days until I finally got so upset I went down to the front desk with laptop in hand. Dan at the front desk was able to connect me in a half an hour. Wish I had done that first as I would have saved so much time and aggravation.
Being timeshare owners we have enjoyed exchanging our points throughout Europe and the US through Interval International for years. I was disappointed to find out Welk is now affiliated with RCI and not Interval. Others owners seemed to be concerned too as they also felt Interval has a better reputation in the industry. This was a constant topic for long time owners in the hot tub through out our stay.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay and when we got home our children said the next time they come they are not leaving the resort as that was the best part of their vacation. ( they went to the Zoo, Legoland, Disneyland and hiked Torrey Pines)


Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LGG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The resort is very nice with many activities, but our villa was not as described (amenities) on the website link provided and a little beat up. The room was only surface clean (left over food debris in the cupboards, cobwebs in all windows and blinds). We were disappointed that we were tricked into attending an ownership presentation. Overall this resort seems to be geared more towards families with young children.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank 57westcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

We appreciate you taking your time to write a review and allowing us to thank you for staying with us. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you experienced in your villa. We have shared with the housekeeping team for them to review the treatment and service procedures. We are very sorry to have disappointed you, and would appreciate your considering a return to our resort to enjoy a pleasurable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

This is one of there best family destination properties that we have ever used. The resort has something for all ages and interests. Activities are available for kids and activities e.g. golfing for adults and kids both. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our on-site amenities during your stay here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights, feedback and recommendations from your visit with us. We look forward to you returning for another amazing family vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Excellent Resort. Facilities were outstanding. The surroundings were beautiful. I have never been to a result that is better built. I have only one negative--wifi. you cannot advertise that you have Wi-Fi and not provide it.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank Sushi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We recently exchanged through Interval a week at the Welk Resort. The location of the resort is away from major cities and tourist destinations. However, the location is great being away from major cities and tourist destinations. When travelling be prepared for traffic and allow plenty of travel time. The resort is huge. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. There are a number of pools and the fitness center is unbelievable. Activities are available if you choose. Golfers would love this resort. Our 2 bedroom unit was in Harmony Hills overlooking the pond and fountain. The units are large and could easily sleep 8. Kitchen is fully furnished. There is also a washer and dryer. Our stay at Welk was Wunderful Wunderful. We will be back.

Room Tip: Harmony Hills over looking the pond and fountain. Second floor rooms have higher celings.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.I am glad to hear your family enjoyed our on-site activities and amenities during your stay here at Welk. I appreciate the highlights, feedback and recommendations from your visit with us.The information you included is great. We look forward to your return for another amazing visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews