We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb gite - exceeded our expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ferme du Tilleul

The Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gite
Gite Entrance Gite entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The Gite
Gite Entrance
Gite entrance
Drone's eye view
Lounge
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 1
Comfy beds
Bedroom 2
Gite garden 1
Gite garden 2
Gite garden 3
Le Tilleul
Vegetable plot
view from the front of the gite and house
Our house in the snow
the bottom of our lane
Aix la Fayette
View from the top of the Puy de Dome
View of the Puy de Dome from Clermont Ferrand
Usson
Issoire church
La Chaise Dieu
Lac Chambon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Aix-la-Fayette, Puy-de-Dome, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
GFS429
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb gite - exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The gite is tastefully furnished, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We did appreciate all the 'extras' /attention to details e.g. fresh strawberries, lettuce from the garden left on our doorstep and kindness of our hosts who invited us for a drink mid week and showed us round the property. As a retired couple, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in La Ferme du Tilleul - highly recommended and such good value. We are used to travelling in France (staying in gites) but have rarely met such friendly and helpful hosts as Mary and Kevan - June 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clealiness and warm welcome by our hosts
Liked least: Could not find any fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
1 review
“Spring holiday”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We rented this 3-room gite for 3 weeks ind order to to finish some works and at the same time get som fresh air. We got it all.
The gite is excellent for travels in spring because the beautiful landscape with millions of Daffodils (at least in april)
A cosy, nice gite and not to forget: very friendly and helpful landlords.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels D
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Le Rouvet, Aix-la-fayette was quit easy to find.
We were welcomed by Kevan with a bottle of rosé wine and some homegrown strawberries.
The gite has two nice bedrooms (one twin bed and one with a twin bed and a single bed), a clean bathroom, a well provided kitchen and a large livingroom.
There is a private garden (where you can barbeque and make a campfire).
The owners Mary and Kevan are very helpful, you can ask them anything. (If you ask you even can pick some berries and spices in the garden)
There are some beautiful walks arround the gite (We saw a deer at a distance of 500m from the gite) if you want to visit anything it's recommend to go by car. We visited Issoire, Ambert (market and dolmen), Murol, Valleé des Saints, Puy de dome and Clermont-Ferrand (which is an hour drive).
One day we were able to use Kevan's and Mary's bike to go to a nearby lake (a half an hour ride, very hilly!) were you can swim, relax and pedalo.

Overall this was a wonderful stay, a perfect combination of relaxing in a natural environtment and cultural activities in the nearby cities. Very recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley w
Theydon Bois, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real Home from Home”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed with Kevan and Mary in March on a short break. We cannot compliment them enough on their hospitality and friendliness. As we were arriving late we had arranged to have a meal with them which was a treat, good wholesome food and plenty of it. Nothing was too much trouble and their Knowledge of the surrounding area was very useful. The lounge area was extremely comfortable with a nice warm log burner and large t.v. The bedroom was large bright and very comfortable with on suite facilities. They have a lovely outside area and Mary`s veg patch is to be proud of.
All in all a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2012
Thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenceM...
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2018
Nous sommes si heureux que vous avez passé des vacances reposantes et apprécié la belle campagne entourant le gîte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing