We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$775.00
More Info
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
710
84
14
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
84
14
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brownie underwater viewing pods sea lions whale watching fast cat common dolphins see whales great trip large pod of dolphins other companies their natural habitat an incredible experience bottle nose dolphins boat ride sea sickness saw dolphins nice boat
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

We've been on numerous boat trips - whale watching etc. and this bar far was the best. The staff and crew are very knowledgable. We saw 100 dolphins and a dozen whales. The crew was respectful of the animals too.

Really the best experience - highly recommend!!!!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank jodif75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Hi,

Thanks for your review and for sharing your beautiful photos. We are flattered to read that you thought the trip with Capt. Dave’s Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari was the best you’ve had! I’m so glad you were happy with our crew and the multiple sightings of dolphins and whales. We do try to be as respectful and eco-friendly as possible, while still offering an exciting, up-close experience. Thank you for your recommendation, and for coming out with us. We’d love to have you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I'm the director of a local preschool and we take the children once a year on Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari. It is a wonderful field trip. Capt. Dave is so very knowledgeable about sea life that it is fun for adults and children. We have been doing this for many years and we have never had a trip that we didn't spot anything. Thank you Capt. Dave

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank PeggyFrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to accommodate your annual field trip. We love having kids on board and strive to make each dolphin and whale watching safari as educational as we can. It’s great to read that you’ve seen animals every time. Our crew works hard to show all our guests as much of the marine wildlife as possible, including different kinds of whales and dolphins, and also sea lions, fish, birds, and more. Thanks again for your repeat business. I hope we’ll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

We had a great time on our whale watching tour. We saw a few whales, however the dolphins chose to take a break that day. ☺. This was still a wonderful way to spend a couple hours out on the water with the wind in your hair. You will learn all about whales and dolphins as well as birds and other fish in the area. The staff is awesome and informative. We would highly recommend this tour. Also...yummy brownies at the end.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Nordiegyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Hi,

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. I’m so glad that you had an educational, exciting trip viewing some amazing whales. I wish we could have shown you dolphins. It's very unusual to see more whales than dolphins during a safari, as this area actually has more wild dolphins than anywhere else in the world! It’s wonderful that you liked our staff and Mrs. Capt. Dave’s delicious triple fudge brownies. Thanks for coming out with us, and I hope we’ll see you on another dolphin and whale watching tour soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I found this group on Facebook! Was not sure my husband who is paralyzed on his left side as the result of a Stroke could have this experience. From the first phone call and forward the group at Captain Dave's Dolphin and Whale Safari put all of our concerns to rest! The team at Captain Dave's were so helpful and made our trip one of the best experiences of our lives! The boat was wonderful and the captain and crew were knowledgeable and fun! We saw Whales and Dolphins! I have already recommended this trip to my friends!!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank svmariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Hi,

Thanks for your review and recommendation. I am so gratified to read that your dolphin and whale watching safari was an unforgettable experience for you. I’m especially pleased that you were satisfied with our crew’s efforts. Everyone is welcome on our trips and we often have guests with varying abilities or levels of mobility, but we try hard to make sure that everyone is comfortable and enjoys spectacular sightings of the dolphins and whales. Thank you again for joining us. I hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Have been on 2 of Captain Dave's cruises so far. Excellent experience both times (even though I got a little seasick the 2nd time)! Love being on a boat that is smaller than most of the dolphin/whale-watching cruise boats, and appreciate that they cap the # of passengers so everyone can get a great view!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Hi,

Thanks very much for writing us a review. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed our dolphin and whale watching tours. As you mentioned, we do limit the number of passengers on our catamarans so that no trip is ever overcrowded, and we feel that it really does make a difference as far as the comfort of our guests and for easy viewing of the wildlife. Thanks again for coming out. We appreciate your repeat business, and we look forward to having you join us on another safari soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews