We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$775.00
More Info
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
710
84
14
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
84
14
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brownie underwater viewing pods sea lions whale watching fast cat common dolphins see whales great trip large pod of dolphins other companies their natural habitat an incredible experience bottle nose dolphins boat ride sea sickness saw dolphins nice boat
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The told Us on the phone the y had a 95% success rate and they maje you Think the is a great chance of watching a whale but it is false. The chance of see ing whales is mínimum
They should refund your money if you dont see a whale

Thank huixoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We did this trip on November . It was a great experience overall. The crew was super friendly and we enjoyed our trip overall. There were some bumps on the way but it was worth the experience. We did not see Ny whales but saw two kinds of dolphins and they were playful and cute. I would definately try to go back and maybe this time get lucky and get a glance of a whale. Thank you for such an experience

Thank Rommina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our friend Chrissy is completely in love with whales, and we wanted to give her a memorable experience with the whales and dolphins. We knew that the likelihood of actually seeing a whale was rather low, so we set our expectations accordingly. Captain Marie and Captain Craig were fabulous tour guides. They really know the terrain and the sea life in this environment. As we expected, we were able to see dolphins all around us, and we each took several turns going down into the glass part of the hull so that we can do underwater viewing. Toward what was supposed to be the end of our time out on the water, a few of us noticed what we thought was a well; the captains steered toward it, and sure enough, it was a minke whale, very rare and typically very elusive. It hung around the boat for a long time, swimming around, and showing itself to us. The captain said that it was about 28 feet long, incredible. They also said it was the best look that they had had of this type of whale in a very long time, so that we should consider ourselves lucky, and we did! The whole team at Captain Dave’s does a wonderful job, and we would recommend this trip without hesitation.

Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. I’m thrilled you enjoyed your recent safari with Capt. Dave’s. We are lucky to have various kinds of both dolphins and whales frequenting our area all year long, and it’s wonderful that you had such an exciting, extended encounter with the Minke Whale! Sounds like you had a good time watching the playful wild dolphins too, and getting up-close and personal with the animals in our unique Underwater Viewing Pods. We appreciate the kind words about the tour and our crew, and we’d love for you to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

My husband and I went on the dolphin safari in October 2017 and could not wait to take our children. In april 2018 we went on a family vacation to Laguna and booking the Dolphin Safari was the first thing we did, once we had our accommodations! The staff are wonderful and welcoming, the boat is a great size in that everyone has a great view. I would highly recommend this excursion!

Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your review and for being a valued returning guest of Capt. Dave’s. It’s wonderful that your whole family has been able to experience the amazing dolphin and whale sightings, and I’m so glad you like our boat and crew. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope you can come out with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

We saw only one pod of dolphins, who weren't too keen on engaging with us. Just not our lucky day to see many animals, but the crew was fantastic and I can't think of a better way to spend an afternoon on the water in beautiful Southern California! The unexpected bonus brownie at the end of the trip made my day!

Thank BadKtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi,
Thanks so much for your review, and for posting those great photos. I’m glad you had the chance to view a pod of beautiful dolphins in their natural habitat. It’s wonderful that you liked our crew and Mrs. Capt. Dave’s delicious, complimentary triple-fudge brownie as well! Is there anything we could do to improve and earn a 5-star review from you next time? Thanks again for coming out, and I hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

The team at Captain Dave’s Dolphin and Whale Watching goes out of their way to ensure you have a great time and see sea life. We saw hundreds of dolphins! Overall it was a wonderful tour! I loved being out on the water, the commentary about what we were seeing, and the crew’s love of what they do! Great job guys!!

Thank Carole7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptDavesWhaleSafari, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi,
Thank you for your review and beautiful photo. It’s so great that you enjoyed spending time with the magnificent wild dolphins! I’m glad you liked our crew and their informative narration too. Thanks for choosing Capt. Dave’s, and I hope we’ll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews