We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
12
17
18
17
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
17
18
17
47
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Pros:
~ Proximity to water
~ Free, in-room coffee
~ Mini-fridge
~ Nice LCD TV
~ Free internet
~ Continental Breakfast
~ Ironing board/Hair dryer

Cons:
~ Slow, frustrating wifi internet
~ Dated facilities
~ Even slower elevator
~ Inadequate parking
~ Loud climate control system
~ Stairs difficult to access

Despite all the negatives - this dockside "Motel" still beats the spartan amenities Motel 6 currently offers. Reserve early and request third-level, harborside views. It sells out fast, but there is no upcharge whatsoever.

Room Tip: Get third level, harbor view room. No upcharge...but first-come, first-served only.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zachary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

This hotel is conveniently located on the Dana Point Marina and near shopping and attractions. Whale/Dolphin watching boat tours just a block away. The rooms are comfortable and some have a great view of the marina. It needs updating but has everything you need including free wi-fi and free breakfast. The beds are comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina are extra. Rooms around the courtyard are less and have a view from the balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This place is dirty. Our room had stained carpets, dirt around the Air conditioner unit and just an overall crummy experience. The air conditioner was very loud--had to keep turning the TV up whenever the unit would kick on. In addition, very poor lighting. I understand the need for energy conservation however, they should use LED bulbs instead of CFL's. What does it take to clean the carpets and dust once in a while???

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gobeavs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Worn out, dirty and the pool area was full of construction equipment. We are local and we needed to stay out of our place for a night, oh my, I would have been very upset if I was on vacation and came here. It's a shame because the location is pretty nice-close to the beach and harbor. A funny thing was there were three "paintings" in the room and they were all the same painting! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunnyJunket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Arrived 1-17-2014 for 1 night. Assigned room. Entered room to find one of the two beds rumpled and the toilet contained feces. Contacted front desk and requested another queen room, as per our pre-paid contract. Room assigned was only double beds. Maid was cleaning other rooms and I peeked in to only see double beds, no queens as advertised. Back to front desk and asked where our queen beds were? Desk person hemmed and hawed and admitted only King and double beds available. We were upgraded to a King bed (the only one available). The room was "well used" Window sills filthy, hadn't been dusted in quite a while. Bathroom had paint pealing and unpainted patched drywall repairs in tub area. In the vanity area, outside the bathroom, florescent tubes burnt out, very little light. Only electrical out let in vanity area was cracked and needed replacement. Coffee service had to be moved to the only outlet. About the only thing that worked as it should was the WiFi.
Bottom line-- You almost always get what you pay for. The hotel is undergoing renovation and could be quite nice once the rooms are updated. But that will probably take quite some time. I would not recommend this motel/hotel. They falsely advertise the rooms and the state of repair needed to available rooms is huge.

Room Tip: Go for the King size bed. There are no Queen size beds.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Busted2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews