We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$199
US$175
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capistrano Surfside Inn(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$893
US$647
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$976/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$696
US$598
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
10
34
19
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
34
19
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime share presentationthe sliding glass door openwithin walking distancesan clementethe pacific coast highwayliving areabed was comfortablenewport beachfitness centerkitchenettebalconyoceanhelmetscouchupgrades
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The resort is across the street from the ocean : Parking lane 4 driving lanes plus center divider, another parking lane, a fence, train tracks, and then the beach font parking lot. You will not see the waves crash on the sand, you will not see the sand, you will only see the water past the other obstructions. Glass of wine or cup of coffee on the patio was not pleasant because of all the noise pollution. Hallway interior doors are constantly slamming and the walls are thin. If you don't plan to spend much time in the unit it will suffice as it is located near many attractions.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank lisacN2374CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in need of upgrade. The room we were in had old worn carpet and worn out furniture. The sofa cushions we're dilapidated. Since Diamond Resorts has taken over they have upgraded a few rooms but most need to be revived. The hotel advertises as ocean view but those on the back side see dirt, a hill, or black plastic.
The convenience of parking in the underground garage was nice, as well as street parking right in front. The pool was in good shape but it was too cool to enjoy.
There is a small convenience type area, no on-site restaurants, but there are several within walking distance. The ocean is across the highway. You must walk down the street about 1/4 mile, then up an over the bridge over the train track. Other reviews said the train was loud and annoying but we were not bothered. It does run quite often.

Dana Point does not have many attractions other than the ocean. We went to San Clemente pier and San Juan Capistrano to the mission.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

An exchange through Interval, worst ever. Basically was told that as an II exchange we wer below the 3rd and lowest "tier" for their owners. We are on the second level directly across from the housekeeping area in a 2 bedroom unit that does have a balcony with a BBQ grill. BUT, directly behind is a retaing wall that goes up past 3rd floor, 3 feet away from building.
It is so dark inside at 9 am that I have every light in the place on. There have been some update but nothing here is luxurious. The sofa is old and dirty, carpet was just cleaned but can not tell by looking. No walk in shower. Shower over the "old " jacuzzi tub in one bath and shower over tub in front bathroom in a bedroom with accordian doors that open to hall just inside door. With my husband and my mobility issue, definetly not safe.
And to top it off we must have a herd of elephants above us and poor insulation between floors. After a long a day getting here they kept me awake beyond midnight and started again around 7 AM.
Needless to say, we will never return and definitely not reccommend to anyone. We will be looking for other accomidatins today which will make this little get away for us much more expensive than we had planned and will undoubtably cut our visit to SO Cal short.
Think twice before booking here. I really needed this time away from my very stressful life at the current time. I did not need this!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank peggymtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Riviera Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Riviera Shores Resort appreciates your candid feedback. We work on a continuous basis to upkeep our resort and will continue to do so, as we strive to provide an optimum vacation experience to all members, owners, and guests. Front desk is accessible 24 hours and will assist immediately with any requests or concerns as we pride ourselves on being responsive and accommodating. We hope to see your Stay Vacationed™ with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We booked this resort several months ago since the availability is scarce. Our check-in was seamless. We said no to the owner update a d were not pressured the rest of our stay. Our suite was ocean facing and the sunsets were phenomenal. We picked up food from the market and grilled on the patio. The fitness center was ok for a quick workout but taking advantage of the on-site and "free" bikes was a better choice. Be biked up to Doheny and took in the scenes. Overall we were content with the stay. With nice restaurants within walking distance, we will be back for more RnR.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Berlinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Great water view. Helpful staff. Nice room with kitchenette, table & chairs and sofa. Extensive remodeling was going on during our stay. This resort is part of the Diamond International system and they do make a strong effort to have their guests attend an informational session. We used the bicycles available and found them to be rather old and in poor repair. Really enjoyed the ocean view.

Stayed: March 2017
2  Thank Stephanie4436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews