We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someone knows how to make a recommendation”
Review of Taco Asylum

Taco Asylum
Get food delivered
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

Note: No pictures because we ate the food too fast. Not sorry.

We came on a recommendation from a friend of one of us in the group. On town on business, I knew I needed a fish taco. What I realized after a short stint in the Taco Asylum, is that I also needed a Banh Mi and a PB&J Bacon, too.

I have no idea what the meat in the Banh Mi is seasoned with, but I suspect it's love and joy. The flavor is ridiculous. If I didn't have a need to try more, I'd have ordered a trio of these. If you order nothing else here, Trust Mi and get the Banh Mi.

The battered fish taco was the weakest link in my three-link taco chain, and it is STRONG. Great mix of fresh ingredients, flavor, and it did not disappoint.

Now, the PB&J Bacon taco. Wow. Not my typical combination of flavors, but an amazing mix and an unexpectedly good mix. The homemade jelly, homemade peanut butter, and the spicy bacon should get together more often. They can meet in my mouth whenever.

The guacamole was good, and the nachos "with protein" were a surprisingly delicious addition to the evening.

Run to the Taco Asylum and get admitted. You'll be glad you did.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

Our server eagerly jotted down our custom orders (no onions, sauce on the side, etc) and brought out our food a few minutes later. Overall the tacos were good although they were a little skimpy with the main ingredients. A few noteworthy details:
-Lemongrass shrimp: ok but shrimp was overcooked and tough
-Blackened Pacific Cod: fresher than the shrimp and tasty with the chipotle aioli and lime
-Banh Mi: thumbs up good
-Guacamole, Tortilla Chips, and “Sauce”: guacamole was fresh and good. We could not figure out the strange after taste of the green sauce (salsa verde??) and could not eat it.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ima_little_hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2019

I had a Steak Taco (fusion) which was very good but not very authentic as it is more of a modern fusion twist to it, I loved their own hot Ghost chili sauce. I would go back there but I feel there must be more authentic options in that area for Tacos.

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank Asim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

This is definitely a great place where you can get very strange and unusual tacos.
All announced flavors are present and the overall mix is really tasty. Let you be surprised !

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Bambooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

Great tacos, Great atmosphere, Great Craft Beer & Great service. What else can you want to have a wonderful meal indoors or out?

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Asylum also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Asylum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.