We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Vio.com
$265
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
510
205
55
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
510
205
55
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower swim up bar sua trench fia fia night beach front farewell song happy hour fish main restaurant beachfront villa hired a car bbq night ocean view sim card ocean trench staff were amazing beautiful beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2023 via mobile

This was our second holiday at saletoga. Two friends. The resort is lovely and we found the staff were very helpful and friendly. Love the swimming and the meals were great.

I am disappointed to see such negativity in a previous review. Don’t forget you are in the islands where things are different in a relaxing way. If we had an issue we found the reception staff were excellent and tried their hardest to find a solution for us. The owners gavin and Lou are so approachable and made every effort to make our stay fabulous. Mind you we don’t sit in our fale moaning about how things would be better. This just festers disappointment!
We did make a couple of suggestions to the owners and they were only too happy to discuss this. If u have an issue say something. A pleasant attitude goes a long way anywhere you go.
We are planning a third trip to saletoga resort as we love the resort and the people. The breakfast was lovely and we found the dinner menus great. The cultural Fia Fia night is a must and really fantastic. The staff put in so much practice to give great cultural entertainment. The massage is a must and the landing bar is great for socialising.

We are grateful we have found saletoga and the lovely staff.
A total recommend.
Thank you for our lovely stay. See you next year

Chrissie bethell

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Chrissie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Brightwell, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2023

thank you Chrissie , especially for your referance to the previous review , it shocked me actually and I have been slow to respond because I just can't believe their review , it doesn't even sound like Saletoga . Anyway I'm just so pleased you enjoyed your stay again and a very fair reveiw , gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2023

We're both widely travelled, and we've stayed at a few Pacific Island resorts. Given the wonderful reviews for Saletoga Sands we were looking forward to this holiday so much, but we were so disappointed.

First, the rooms. It rained for the first half of our one-week stay, so we were pretty much marooned in ours, and it really got us down. The furniture was dark, dowdy chipped veneer, and very uncomfortable with obviously no thought to providing comfortable seating for rainy days. I spent a lot of time mentally planning how I'd refurbish the place to bring it up to the standards we'd experienced in similarly-priced resorts elsewhere in the Pacific. (Get rid of the tired furniture, put in new white-painted furniture with better thought out wardrobe shelving and place the furniture with some thought instead of just plonking it in anywhere. With careful placement there's more than enough room for two COMFORTABLE cane chairs rather than the uncomfortable grey coloured one shoved haphazardly in a corner). Also, for goodness' sake do something about the lighting! On those gloomy days when we were stuck inside, shutters closed because we had the air conditioning on, we couldn't see to read! Being environmentally conscious is no excuse - there are plenty of bright low-emission led bulbs available these days so forcing guests to sit in gloom is just plain unnecessary.

Unfortunately the gloom prevailed right throughout the resort, so we assume the staff have been told not to turn on the lights. Bars, restaurants, the reception area and the shop were all depressingly dark and unwelcoming.

Things took a different turn once the sun came out - there is very little shade at this resort so after brief forays out to swim in the pool or the lagoon we were back in our room again to get out of the sun. (Unfortunately we noticed several pool lounge chair hogs during our time there - people who placed their belongings on the most shaded chairs early in the morning and left them there for most of the day despite spending little time in the pool area. There was no signage asking people not to do this as we've seen in other resorts, with belongings removed by staff if they are left unattended beyond a specific period of time, and which guest would want to risk fostering pool rage by confronting the hogs themselves?) Our hut's porch faced west, so after about 2.00pm we couldn't even sit there.

Another big issue was the lack of information and poor service. There was no map of the resort, no signage on restaurants and bars, details of happy hours etc was very sketchy and the staff seemed very ill-informed about these things. An enquiry about where the Landing Bar was elicited a blank look followed by a dismissive wave of a hand and an 'over there'. Drinks menus were confusing - if you don't serve cocktails at the Bungalow Restaurant then why list them on the drinks menu? (Blank looks when asking about cocktails at the Sports Bar. Do you serve cocktails? No. Really? (This after getting a no at the Bungalow Restaurant). So where can we get a cocktail? Oh. Another blank stare. Then oh, I will ask. Someone else appears, says only cocktail is 'cocktail of the day' - pina colada. We order two. Mine is fine until about halfway through, when my straw was jammed by a disgusting, long, thick grey slug of (hopefully!) coconut fat. If you only serve one particular cocktail each day then say so - and clearly advertise where to get them and what today's is.

Asking whether there is a dessert menu at the main restaurant. Reply 'yes', then server walks away before we can ask to see one - we assume she's gone to get one, for us, but no...

We didn't get our pool towels until the end of our second day despite repeated requests. We waited for ages to get served at main restaurant despite repeatedly making eye contact with staff. We waited an hour to get our burgers at the Bungalow restaurant, watching people who'd arrived a considerable time afterwards get served first...

And no, we hadn't done anything to alienate the staff in any way (we really are very nice, warm and polite people!) to warrant this kind of inattentive service; it just seemed par for the course.

Some other minor flaws - an outdoor tap and a doormat at each hut would make it less likely for sand to be tracked in. The room could do with some drying racks, especially for swimming gear and pool towels. The smell of sewerage was so bad that at night we had to close the shutters on one side of the room, reducing air flow. The outdoor furniture would be a lot more comfortable with some seat pads...

I know that I sound like one big Moaning Minnie but I am genuinely sad to give such a bad review. This resort is pretty enough on the surface, but it needs a heck of an overhaul to bring it up to scratch before we'd ever consider recommending it.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ronillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Brightwell, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2023

I'm really sad to have such a bad review and have really taken it to heart , I guess all protential guest reading your review will need to refer to other reviews we have received ,Gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2023 via mobile

Second visit to Saletoga Sands. Once again we were met by Otto the driver for the resort. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the reasonably new Adults Executive Villas. We had originally booked for a Deluxe Villa. After 2 nights we moved back to the poolside, Room 113. Very close to pool. Suited our needs for sure. Lots of swimming in pool and sea. Grounds are immaculate.
Breakfast supplied is always a bonus.
Dinner we divided those nights depending what was on offer. We did bbq night twice and Fia night also. The other 7 nights we ordered off the menu in restraurant. We always had the bestest of servers. These employees just made our trip so special…❤️ Way to many to mention!!. Thankyou.
Villy on reception, always a pleasure to deal with.
Oh and just buy your Sim Card and Data from Reception. Cheap as for the 12 days.
We hired a car just for one day, super cheap also.
Was nice to catch up with owners Gavin and Lou. Such a hard working hands on couple who have done heaps to the resort during the 3 years we were there last. {pre covid}.
Thankyou both. And the farewell song was amazing and a bit emotional actually.
See you next year.
Kind Regards Chrissie Bethell and Lorraine Howard👍

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank l0rraineh0ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Brightwell, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

thanks for the review , It was great seeing you guys again , yes we were busy building and refurbishing over covid period so many improvements and additions , we weren't so luck with staff over covid we could only keep on 40 full time through the lock down and lost alot of those laid off to fruit picking so had to recruit more than 70 new staff , we have some shinning stars amongst them and a lot of enthusiasum just more experience needed ,lastley we now have a free wifi now but just in the main reception and restaurant and a few fales close by , guests on arrival get a wifi pass and can hook up two devices to it , but also the free sim card and buying $11 tala credit is another option thanks again for supporting Samoa and Saletoga , gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2023

Was as close to paradise as you can get. Excellent amenities, spotless, comfortable and such friendly and helpful staff. The lovely staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. We couldn’t fault Saletoga Resort on any aspect of our amazing time there. Thank you Saletoga for such a wonderful time.

Room tip: Make sure to bring a snorkel.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N6191LQtrishs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Brightwell, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

thanks we are glad you enjoyed your stay , gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2023

My wife and I recently stayed at the resort for 7 nights, the experience from the time we were met at the airport to catch the shuttle was nothing short of amazing!
Gavin & Lou have created an outstanding resort that is very welcoming, relaxing and very well presented in all aspects. We found all the staff to be most welcoming and always helpful with a smile.
The food at both venues was wonderful including the breakfast that was more than expected!
The Fia Fia night was a fun night with amazing food and enjoyed by all!
The pool, beach and surrounds were very inviting and there were always loungers available!
We would thoroughly recommend this resort and are already looking at booking for next year!

Room tip: Just go there and experience it for yourself!
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nsbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavin Brightwell, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

thanks for the amazing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews