We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
457
182
47
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
457
182
47
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower swim up bar beach front sua trench fia fia night beautiful resort happy hour fish beachfront villa main restaurant hired a car bbq night kids club paddle boards recommend this resort ocean trench staff were amazing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2020

In the following we would like to report about what we experienced because of the missing return travel possibilities (COVID-19).

In the meantime we have already enjoyed the holidays in the resort twice. For us at Saletoga Sands Resort everything is just right. We appreciate the cultivated atmosphere, the good food, the large and very beautiful Beach Fales, the cultural events in the resort, the peace and quiet and much more. For us there is no alternative on Samoa.

A total of 10 Europeans were forced to wait in the resort for a return journey due to the lack of return travel options. Despite the COVID-19 situation the resort remained open. For us stranded guests everything was done to make sure that we are well (including information about the behaviour in groups of people and distribution of disinfectants). We waited 14 additional days until we could finally fly home with a repatriation flight. During this not easy time all our wishes were fulfilled - we were in very good hands. We did not feel any restrictions from the resort. All cleaning work in the whole resort was maintained and the room service was carried out without any changes. We were still able to eat 3 times a day. The generous menu list was reduced at lunchtime and in the evening. Instead we could choose from three menus, which changed every day. We really appreciated this variety.

The whole staff was very nice and always helpful. We also received professional help in setting up the smart phone for local data.

The resort management was in regular contact with the embassy and the travel agent in order to ensure a quick return journey. We were always informed immediately about the talks. This meant that we did not have to organize everything ourselves, which is not to be expected everywhere nowadays.

We would like to thank the owners (Lou and Gavin) and the management (Sam) especially. They have supported us very well and intensively in this unfortunate situation with great commitment (worked long over the usual office hours).

With great relief and a heavy heart we could leave the resort after an additional 14 days. The friendliness, generosity and cordiality of the entire staff is unique. We will never forget this - we will continue to go to Saletoga Sands Resort.

Hansueli and Sonja
Switzerland

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eazycheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2020 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Saletoga from the 12-19 th March. A lovely resort at the opposite end of the Island from airport. Driver Otto was waiting for us and other guests. Off we went. He gave details of places and things on the way. We were appointed Room 304 on arrival, a lovely room inside, but unfortunately the patio area was small and the outlook not very islandy!. Anyway on day 3 I said to my friend, Im over this view, Im going to pay for an upgrade. Reception Staff were awesome. We were given a complimentary upgrade to Room 125. At this point I would like to mention reception staff. All very kind and patient lol. My friend had bought a digicel sim, on recommendation, but without any mast nearby, proved really sketchy. Get a bluesky if staying at Saletoga. I want to mention Sam. Shes a fairly new asset to this Resort. She is such a lovely kind caring girl who has great people skills, and seemed to be giving 110% at all times. It was a particularly stressful time in Samoa, with flights being cancelled, postponed etc because of the onset of Carona Virus. This girl was handling it in her stride. Always up for a chat and smile. BUT also well done to all the staff, who were kind and lovely and at times quite funny lol. The meals were good. For went the cooked breakfast and just ate the tropical fruits which is my go to when available. The proper coffees were yum. The beers always cold. The pool area nice, and swam in it heaps. The sea water tepid, actually never swam in the ocean as much as I did at Saletoga.
We did the glass bottom boat trip, and hired a local taxi driver for a days touring around Samoa. Both the above mentioned outtings were eventful to say the least!!
The Resort itself is peaceful and picturesque, has a serene, calming feel to it. We both enjoyed our 2nd room which featured a king bed inthe lounge area and 2 singles in a bedroom off the lounge. Both indoor and outdoor shower. Loved the stone double sinks. Loved the huge covered with thatch roof balcony. All in all we had the most pleasant stay but of course 7 nights is never long enough. Will I return, most definately. Would I recommend, absolutely. Thankyou and Regards Lorraine Howard x

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank l0rraineh0ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2020 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at saletoga from 12-19 March and absolutely loved it. The staff were great. Sam the manager was wonderful - nothing was too much trouble and if we said anything about something we thought wasn’t right she addressed it straight away. The bungalow was awesome. We had 125. The food was great for a resort and we had no need to look further afield. The pizzas were great. I couldn’t recommend this resort enough. The massage was awesome and worth every tala. The fia fia night was spectacular. Would definitely go back. Thank you everyone for making our holiday wonderful. Chrissie

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Orangebik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

5 stars
Resort and location are amazing couldn’t and wouldn’t ask for more. Room was great we had 5 in our family room. 2 adults and 3 late teens with plenty of room. Staff we’re equal amazing, helpful, friendly,and willing to meet our every need or want and to meet the owns who interacted with all the guests was a first for me. You can tell the Gavin n Lou love what they do and there staff. We had issues with Samoa closing it’s boarder and fights canceled due to COVID-19 but Sams Contacts and came through with the info we needed to get us home just in time. Food was great with a wide variety, kids loved the curly fry’s. Hired a van and scooter through the resort and had a blast travelling around the islands hot spots. Can’t wait to return

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 148shaneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

Long way from the airport, but relaxing, comfortable, clean and friendly. Really an ideal place to be you base for exploring Samoa.

Rooms are spacious and fairly modern. If you are not getting an ocean front room, request one of the new rooms (which should be completed shortly), otherwise you view is just the backside of another bungalow. Still nice inside, just not a great to look out from. No wifi and no cable, but you can borrow a DVD or buy a SIM card for the rainy days.

Nice clean pool, a few little beaches and a decent area to snorkel.

Dinners are really well done and tasty. Breakfast is pretty weak.

Access to the famous trench, waterfalls, and island side trips are all in very easy reach. We loved the whole experience and would have happily stayed longer if we could.

Room tip: Get Ocean Front or a room in the new complex if you can. If getting a SIM at the airport get Blue Sky- avoid Digicel.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews