We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Forrest Setting with lots of birds and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cazadero, Sonoma County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob_from...
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Forrest Setting with lots of birds and cute critters.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Not sure what I can add to the other positive reviews posted already. The fresh flowers (in the Kitchen, in the Living Room and upstairs in the Bedroom) were a really nice touch. Very thoughtful and much appreciated. The WI-FI system worked well, which is a good thing, considering there are no land lines and no cell service (at least for AT&T). I used Skype for the few calls I had to make. The home was spotless upon arrival and we tried to leave it in the same condition. Great selection of CDs provided; again, much appreciated. If you like birds and chipmunks, by all means consider bringing a bag or two of birdseed. The Jays, chickadees and occasional crows will all appreciate it and entertain at the same time.

A couple of suggestions for improvement:

a. The kitchen is too dark; the lights really should be replaced by something brighter. (Cooking in a dark environment can be a challenge.)
b. The AV system is needlessly complicated; I personally would replace the entire set-up.
c. I would place a label at the bottom of the grill asking folks to shut off the gas at the propane bottle as I think the grill may be leaking a small amount of propane.

We had a great time and please don't interpret my suggestions for improvement as intending to dissuade in any form or fashion. The place is great and I would stay there again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lush green forrest environment and huge trees.
Liked least: AV System, dark kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mespunky2
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and Serene a true escape .. that feels like home”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived to fresh flowers and fire going in stove it was a beautiful welcoming home.I enjoy cooking and the kitchen was well stocked and had spices which delighted me as I had brought some from home . The only items missing were cookie sheet ,pie plate, bread pan .A food processor and kitchen aid mixer would have been great but truthfully I am one of the few that probably use kitchen that much and I still managed to make bread ,pie etc so I was happy.The Jacuzzi was wonderful ,sitting out there on the deck felt like you were alone in a forest. I fell asleep each night to the sound of babbling the brook.I had issues with karoke/cd player and I notified management and they had someone there in an hour with cd player. I usually spend vacations out of the country in places like Mexico,Fiji the Dominican Republic and all inclusive resorts. This by far has been the most restorative and enjoyable vacation. Went hiking in Armstrong Redwoods park down to Bodego Bay for great crab cakes at Spud point Crab Co truly absolutely delightful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views woke up looking out side,sitting outside the peace that surrounds you is incredible
Liked least: That home wasn't for sale
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vino4two
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely home surrounded by gorgeous forest”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

secret garden is a clean, spacious and well-stocked home. the property is amazing with an endless view up the hillsides to the forest from back of property. the 'babbling' brook (we were amazed there was water flowing considering we are in a severe drought and most of california is drying up!) the house was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. one note, the upstairs bedroom is quite spacious, with small balcony, and a half wall that is open to the rest of house. (it's gorgeous!) while the downstairs room is rather small. if you are picky on this and staying with friends, you may want to consider how you decide on rooms or split the cost. it was not an issue for us at all. :)

also, the loft has a ladder to climb up and if i had kids, would not feel comfortable with kids under the age of 12 or so having to climb up and down for safety reasons.
overall, beautiful property and we now have a "go-to" place near the coast and beautiful russian river

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seclusion and gorgeous forest
Liked least: bit of odor from the propane heat, a bit of musty smell but that's coastal living. :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Rafael
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thanks for the review, and we're so glad you enjoyed Secret Garden. The cleaning fee is payment for a professional cleaning service to make sure the house is extra clean for each guest. -Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing