We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent Birthday Weekend”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden Atmospheric Great Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Yellow Sitting Room
Country Kitchen With Aga
Poolside Pavilion
Poolside Pavilion
Childrens Chill Out Room
Master Bedroom Suite Overlooking The Garden
En-Suite Bathroom / Dressing Room
Oak Bedroom - superking bed
Oak Bedroom En-suite
Crewel Bedroom - with dressing room and en-suite
17th Century Four Poster
Attic Dorm - Sleeps 4 Kids
View To Garden Terrace
The Garden - Yew Hedges and Topiary
Pop Up Glamping
Tennis Court
Perfect for Celebrations and Get Togethers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueDeal
Deal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magnificent Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have recently returned from the most amazing birthday weekend in this wonderful house.
To say I was not looking forward to my BIG birthday was an understatement! Unbeknown to me my family booked this wonderful house and turned my dreaded birthday into a wonderful celebration.
We arrived on the Friday to be met by Janine (the owner) and she gave us the warmest of welcomes, the weather was chilly but the house was warm and had the most lovely ambiance with the sun shining in the leaded windows. Such a beautiful house and far more perfect than any 5* hotel. The kitchen with the aga was the hub of the house and when we arrived there was fizz in the fridge with a tray of champagne flutes, plus a tray set for tea (milk in the fridge) complemented by a beautiful cake.

We are a family of 9 adults and 2 children, ages ranging from 70 to 5 and it suited us all. Lots for the children to do, they loved the playroom and playing tennis with the adults on the tennis court. There is also a pool and a pool house, although only open in the summer. The grounds are magnificent and home to peacocks and chickens. Do try the fresh eggs for breakfast, so yummy. There are so many rooms in the house, do look at the website and if you book this house you will not be disappointed. I had a surprise party in the big hall and my family arranged caterers(Bespoke) who were excellent and I must give them a mention as their service was above and beyond and I would highly recommend them.

I think over the course of the weekend we used most rooms and lit the open fires, this has to be the most relaxing place my husband and I have ever stayed in, of course my children together with their husbands, wives, partners did all the organising making this the best 70th birthday weekend ever but they certainly got it spot on when they booked The Old Hall at Saxlingham, Nethergate.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDP89_13
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Not being able to decide on a venue for Christmas, we opted to bring our family together on neutral soil. Out of all the places we looked at, ranging from the Scottish Highlands to the French coast, we couldn't have picked a better place than The Old Hall.

From the very beginning, Janine and her team went above and beyond what we expected from them, never settling for 'just' fulfilling our wishes but continuously taking an extra step to ensure the best possible experience. Events were smoothly put together and additional requests such as catering, seamlessly coordinated.

The Old Hall itself is a magnificent and wonderful house, full of beautiful period features and tasteful decoration, all of which makes one feel at home from the very first step across its doors. Katy's warm welcome upon arrival further added to this experience and the delicious mince pies/welcome gifts made us want to stay on forever.
Its grounds are stunning and we are definitely planning on coming back in spring to see the flowers in full blossom.

Finally, let us not forget to mention the fact that we were accompanied by eight dogs, whom Janine and her staff kindly welcomed, trustingly, with open arms.

Thank you all so much for this relaxing and lovely experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony T
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous second stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Over a year ago we first hired the Old Hall and had such a fantastic experience, we booked it again for the following year. We weren't disappointed. It's a fabulous house, with beautiful gardens set up to easily accommodate a party of 16 people. WE absolutely love the place, and intend to book it again. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The lounge and dining hall are amazing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kpartridg
1 review
“A privilege to have experienced a weekend in this wonderful house”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Sixteen family and friends celebrated my 40th birthday at The Old Hall, age range from 4 months to 60+ years and we ALL had a wonderful time!

The house and grounds are truly amazing. The kids (and big kids) were in and out of the pool, we played cricket on the lawn, had a game of tennis, explored the grounds, toasted marshmallows in the fire pit in the woods and the list goes on. The garden pavilion was a great place for us all to relax in the day and evening.

Janine couldn't have given us a warmer welcome and although we had a small problem with the hot water this was swiftly sorted for us.

To sum it up, the children absolutely loved the dorm where 4 of them slept especially as that's where the cinema screen was!! And the adults enjoyed spending time together in a unique, comfortable and atmospheric home. So many little touches made for a very memorable break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,217
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing