We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coral Eye(Bangka Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
74
71
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
71
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat divingdive sitesspent nightsafternoon diveworld classremote locationbeautiful beachoffice staffmuck divingsound of the wavesisolated islandcamera roommask and snorkelrooms are clean and comfortablestaff were attentivecoral wallsplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Great diving, great food, with cozy rooms. Lovely staff too!
Internet works, but is slow.
Dive boats are spacious and comfortable, with snacks included. The fruit is sweet and always fresh.
The house reef is lovely to snorkel and dive, with fantastic muck diving and reef diving around the corner - nothing is very far away.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Fruchle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swormald, Public Relations Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Fruchle,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Murex Bangka. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in resort and the diving and snorkeling. The House Reef is a real highlight of Bangka - incredible corals and plenty of fish just a step off the beach!

Internet on the island is slower than on the mainland and we are constantly reviewing how to increase the speed - it was good to hear that it was working with no issues - thank you.

Please do let us know when you plan to return to North Sulawesi as we'd love to welcome you back to Murex Dive Resorts again soon!

Best wishes from all of us,

Sarah Wormald
Murex Dive Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

What can I say about Bangka? Not only are the diving and the dive masters top-notch, But you are in one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen in the world… On a beautiful white sandy beach with turquoise blue water. The staff are some of the friendliest people I’ve ever met. Ron, Elizabeth, Nancy, Dive staff Hanny and Delphine were just a few of the people that made this one of my most memorable vacations. They surprised me with a spur of the moment hand baked and decorated cake celebrating my 10th year of diving during that time I was there. In the short time I was there, I felt like I was saying goodbye to family.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swormald, Public Relations Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Michelle P,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us - our team really enjoyed your time in the resort and the 10 year cake was our pleasure.

Bangka really is a picture postcard destination and we were delighted to read that you loved it as much as we do.

Please do let us know when you plan a return trip to North Sulawesi as we would love to welcome you back!

Very best wishes,

Sarah Wormald
Murex Dive Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I thorougly enjoyed my stay on Bangka Island. Life in the ocean from tiny to large is fantastic and intact, no dead coral there. The staff in the resort and the dive guides are wonderful, friendly and competent. They make you feel like you are part of the family. The food is tasty and varied.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Urs300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swormald, Public Relations Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Hello Urs300,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us - we were all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The reefs around Bangka are pristine and home to an abundance of varied marine life - it's hard not to be impressed by the kaleidoscopic soft corals!

It was also great to read that you appreciated our Dive Guides and Resort Staff - we aim to ensure that every guest feels well looked after and takes home wonderful memories.

We will pass your comments, regarding the tasty and varied food, to our kitchen team - they will be delighted!

Thank you so much and please let us know when you plan a return trip as we would love to welcome you back,

Best wishes,

Sarah Wormald
Murex Dive Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

My wife and I spent about 10 days here.
It's remote but the Murex staff are very professional and respond well to the unexpected - as well as being friendly, helpful and fun.
Soft white powdery sand, diverse, healthy coral about 10- 20 meters from the mid tide line, a 30X200++ meters coral garden, lots of colourful reef fish and all that just outside your bedroom. This is one fabulous place for snorkelers and families with children (the scuba divers all gave the diving top marks too).
Our bungalow/hut was adequate but the tinted windows made it a bit dark. The mosquito nets were a bit small and restrictive but as there were no bugs we didn't use them (People at the other end of the beach complained about mosquitos despite having screens on their windows). No lack of comfort.
Take a book - WiFi is limited even with a TelcomSel SIM.
I have to give Murex top marks for quality management. The food was good, the housekeeping was good and the staff were good (good = 9/10).
All in all, well worth a return trip.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jotway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swormald, Public Relations Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Jotway,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us at Murex Bangka - we were delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay!

The white sand beach is a definite highlight and it was great to read that you enjoyed the House Reef - the incredible marine life and corals are such a treat to have in such close proximity.

The resort staff were all extremely happy to hear your comments regarding the food, housekeeping and service - thank you!

The tinted widows are to offer privacy but noted that they made the room seem dark and we will look into ways to overcome this.

Thank you so much and we hope to welcome you back to Murex Bangka again soon!

Best wishes,

Sarah Wormald
Murex Dive Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Beautiful island, nice and comfortable bungalows, good food, friendly staff and exceptional diving staff, amazing preserved live coral house reef... What else ?!!
Just perfect for divers and non-divers using mask and snorkel...

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful seaview !
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank oetzou2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swormald, Public Relations Manager at Murex Bangka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi oetzou2016,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Murex Bangka, it was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the resort, service, staff and diving.

We are extremely fortunate to have such a stunning House Reef, just a step off the beach, and with so many fish and diverse, healthy corals.

Please do let us know if you plan to return to North Sulawesi as we would love to welcome you back and show you more incredible dive sites.

Best wishes from all of us,

Sarah Wormald
Murex Dive Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews