We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$915
US$471
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$960
US$318
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma(Riviera Maya)(Great Value!)
US$950
US$346
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$167
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$410
US$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (13,172)
Filter reviews
13,172 results
Traveller rating
9,410
2,607
745
240
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,410
2,607
745
240
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench restaurantemerald suiteprivilege packagedon miguelmain poolthe lazy river poolbreakfast and lunchroom servicesilver suitestwo swim up barsthe french onion soupsports barcoors lightsushi barmichael jackson showother resortslobster
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 13,172 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We chose this place to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and it did not disappoint. The resort is super clean, the rooms are very nice. The food was great. The drinks and concierge service was a+. This is a place for lovers and great r&r

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank maiyaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Guest Relations Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following recent stay at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya and to our beautiful country.

It makes us so happy to see how enjoyable your stay with us was, from the excellent view outside, to the excellent service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at this resort First for a few days and then had plans to meet up with friends and had to switch resorts. The other resort was double the cost and although both were very very nice I would choose this resort over and over again.
Phenomenal staff, amazing beach, awesome restaurants and great pools to choose from. Everything was prestine and so well cared for. Choose here you will not regret your decision.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kris131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Guest Relations Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review – it was a pleasure to welcome you to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya.

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Needless to say we are most grateful for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back to VIRM on many more occasions.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

This is long but includes everything I would have wanted to know beforehand. I think you will love this place!

FOOD/BARS
-Big variety of restaurants for dinner and no reservation needed (except for the Hibachi dinner at the Japanese restaurant)—Our favorite was the Indonesian place but Italian and Japanese (Hibachi) were great too. French was good food with a live cellist playing pop songs which was fun. The only one we were unimpressed with was the Mexican restaurant and we never tried the seafood/steak one (only one that was not included with all-inclusive).
- 2 restaurant options for breakfast. We ate at the one on the beach every day and never tried the one indoors but were told it was the same food. The usual all-inclusive resort buffet with wonderful fresh fruit and really good service. Our waiter each day was Gilberto who was awesome! They seem like they really try to get to you know you there and seat you with the same server each morning which was nice.
-Lunch options were limited. Both breakfast places were open for buffet lunch which was okay. They also grilled at the pool every day (burgers one day, chicken sandwiches another day, and taco bar another day) that you could serve for youself and eat by the pool.
- It was nice that they have a lot of different bars to hang out in the evening. We enjoyed the sports bar and Don Miguels which made fancy cocktails.
- BEWARE THAT THE RESTAURANT DRESS CODES ARE VERY STRICT. Leather flip flops do not count as “elegant men’s sandals” which we found out when we were literally turned away by the hostess.
- All the bars have high end liquor (we enjoyed the Bombay Sapphire and Tanqueray gin in our G&Ts) included without any extra charge. If you order the cheap fruity blended drinks at the pool, I think they default to the cheap stuff but you can always request the nicer liquor in those too and they will accommodate.

POOL
-Never a shortage of pool chairs (unless you wanted to be in the shade) and we were there Tuesday-Sunday in late April.
-Daily pool activities were really fun and the activities staff was GREAT at getting everyone to participate (water aerobics, water Zumba, biking in the water, something called Aqua Force which was like yoga and aerobics while standing on an inflatable raft, water polo, pool volleyball and basketball). They also had out of water activities like Texas hold em, cooking classes, friendship bracelet making classes at a bar near the pool if you didn’t want to be in the water. I especially had a great time with Sairy who was a member of the activities staff!
- There is the “Golden pool” which was kind of set up like a lazy river, very quiet, older crowd there (we never went in there).
- The “Main Pool” is one really big pool but with very distinct sections. One end is much more chill but can swim right over to the “party end” where all the activities are, and then even further down for another chill area. There are 2 swim-up bars in the main pool so you never really have to wait long for drinks.
- There are a few waiters who circulate around the main pool. I’m not really sure why but they rarely stopped to ask if we wanted anything. It didn’t really bother us since we could quickly get what we wanted from the swim up bars. The waiters do not serve food at the pool.

MISCELLANEOUS
- Grounds were beautiful and large. We got a LOT of steps in each day but if you didn’t want to walk, you can always call for a golf cart or hail one driving by
- One area of the beach is swimmable, not the whole stretch along the resort though. The swimmable part is beautiful, no sea grass, no rocks, lots of fish in the water. It was very hard to get a chair at the beach near this area. And unless you’ve paid to be part of the “Privilege Club” you are not allowed to use the “sun beds” on the beach (or by the pool for that matter), even the un-occupied ones.
- Got a massage which was amazing but overall the spa facilities were nothing impressive compared to other resorts we’ve been too. The massages were also quite expensive.
- We checked out the entertainment each night (circus night, Michael Jackson night, magic night, etc). Most were good but not amazing and the theater was indoors which was a little disappointing. Also always live music somewhere in the evenings and even a DJ playing until 1 or 2am each night with dancing.

ROOM
- We paid when we got there to upgrade to an Emerald room which was on the ocean. I think it was worth it to be able to hang out on the porch and watch the ocean. Room was fairly small but nice, bathroom had a HUGE jacuzzi that probably could have fit 6 people. You could open the big windows by the jacuzzi so it almost seemed like you were outside on the beach.

Room Tip: Higher-numbered Emerald rooms are closer to the action
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaliseJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Guest Relations Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, it was a pleasure having you with us.

We will certainly be passing on your kind words to the team at the hotel who will be delighted they could make your stay an enjoyable one. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel and grounds, as well as our restaurant and bars.

We enjoyed having you stay and hope we can welcome you back very soon again.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in March 2018. The first night didn’t start of great. Our flight was late and we were the last people to check in. Our suite was on 1st floor, (requested 3rd) with a welcome card for a different couple, plus the man providing our transportation to the room was very rude. However in the am we returned to check in and the man was lovely. They moved us to the 3rd floor. The rest of our week was excellent. The staff was so kind, service was excellent, the room was very clean, food was so good. We will be back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Guest Relations Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at Valentin Imperial Riivera Maya.

We truly appreciate your kind words on the service as well as your experience in our hotel. We will be sure to share your review with the team who will be delighted they could make your stay a pleasant one. At the same time we apologize for the rude staff member that welcome you, be sure we will take actions.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Here for the second time as the first time (same time last year) was awesome. Service, accommodations are great but I have one request that they can’t seem to meet. No Southern Comfort in the bars...plenty last year. Day 3, several requests even with bar manager. Sisters birthday is tomorrow, requesting social media manager have some at the pool bar where activities happen by the AM. My rating would improve. Simple request. Thanks!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank lla1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALENTIN C, Guest Relations Manager at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and we would like to apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations so far.

We would like to confirm we offer Southren Comfort in all our bars.

We will be in contact with you shortly via email as we would like to discuss further with you on your stay.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews