We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
322
89
36
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
89
36
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chez roux dining room lemon tart eggs benedict lovely hotel every member of staff without exception open fire rooms are spacious spectacular views first class staff were attentive dining experience year after year wine list short break fishing port
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

For personal reasons we had not been able to stay here for a few years but a recent late October break reminded us of what we had been missing. Courteous, friendly and attentive service. Wonderful surroundings with views not to be forgotten. A place where every guest is made to feel special. In no small part this is down to the long serving Inver Lodge general manager, Nicholas Gauton, who presides over his hotel with a professionalism all too rare. It is no doubt because of him that his staff, many of whom come back year after year, create the family atmosphere all guests enjoy so much that they, too, make regular return visits.
We thought the food had actually improved on our last visit some seven or eight years ago. Venison dishes were particularly enjoyable and although we had fish on several occasions, more variety of fish (especially shellfish) would be appreciated. ( note: the Kylesku Hotel restaurant nearby sets the fish standard) Our room (Sylvern) was a special treat and as good as they come.
We shall be returning next year. This is a journey for us of many miles,but more than worthwhile.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pollymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you very much for your appreciated review of your return visit to Inver Lodge and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

My only regret? I didn't get the name of the person who welcomed us on arrival, note didn't say "checked us in" as there was no form filling or card checking, just a lovely welcome and introduction to the hotel, then straight along to our room. Thank you very much, first impressions are so important. Our room was a good size and well planned , the twin beds had been put together as requested, there was a nice seating area and good storage space. The bathroom wasn't huge but everything worked well and in one of the few places which didn't ask guests to reuse towels you actually could as there was a very efficient towel warmer. The only downsides - fixed hangers in the wardrobe and a low powered hairdryer.
We were on a DBB rate so ate in, the restaurant is comfortable, seating is arranged and rotated to give everyone a chance at the sea views (though less impressive on darker nights, it must be spectacular in summer). Food is good and service friendly. It was nice to see children in the dining room, they were offered the main and children's menus and treated in a relaxed way which encouraged their good behaviour.
The hotel is dog friendly but they aren't allowed in the bar or restaurant areas so if you're not a doggy person you won't feel overwhelmed, but you should try and say "Hello" to assistant receptionist Beinn. We also appreciated the "Walkers and Fishers" entrance and drying room where we could store our coats and dry off feet and paws.
Altogether a nice, comfortable, relaxed place which obviously invests in staff training and understands hospitality; we were so chilled out that when we had a small hiccup in service we didn't mind - and it was dealt with elegantly. A great stay in a beautiful area with lots to explore

Stayed: October 2017
Thank mrsstarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for your appreciated review of your stay with us in October. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and I promise the address the hairdryer problem. I hope that we can welcome you back in 2018.
Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

This is going to sound churlish. Inver Lodge does not cut the mustard, it’s over priced, over rated and simply not good value for money. The place is pleasant, the atmosphere starchy, not the Scottish hospitality you adore. There is nothing wrong, per se, the brekkie is indeed good, but not special. Run of the mill cereals, but divine steeped fruits. The edges of my muffin on the Royale were burnt in detriment to the flavour. A dog belonging to one of the guests wagged his tail in welcome and enjoyment, there really was more humanity, soul and sincerity in Mr Doggo than in the place overall. There are far, far better value places in Scotland than this.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank robinmM3768XT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

I am disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your experience at Inver Lodge especially as you felt we were lacking in hospitality for which I am quite shocked knowing how much the team put in to making sure guests enjoy their stay.
I hope that you will consider returning and please make yourself know to me.
Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

This was our most expensive overnight stay on the NC500 but you get what you pay for and this is a fantastic 5star hotel. We were shown to a very spacious room on the ground floor and it came with a huge bed and and superb en suite. It also had great views of Lochinver. We found the staff friendly, welcoming and informative and nothing was too much trouble.
There was a great choice at breakfast and the food was first class. I have no problem recommending this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your appreciated review of your recent stay at Inver Lodge. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and I hope that we can welcome you back when you next plan a trip to the Highlands.
Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We stayed here on one of the 3 for 2 deals they have in October. The hotel drive winds up a steep hill and we had great views of the harbour from our room. it was a big room, with a sofa and coffee table for relaxing with a cup of tea and the bed seemed about 7 feet wide! the best thing was the helpful, cheerful attitude of the staff, all of them. the food was good, too. If it is on the menu, don't miss the souffle suissesse, which is to die for. Lots of nice things for breakfast, too. It's a long way from where we live in Fife, but if we ever come to the area again, we would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift, so if you have mobility problems, choose a room on the ground floor, though it is quieter upstairs
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your appreciated review of your recent stay at Inver Lodge. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that next time you plan to venture north from Fife that we will be on your agenda. Kind regards,
Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews