We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little corner of heaven!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bridge Cottage

Welcome to Bridge Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bridge Cottage
Lots of room to relax, sitting room with smart TV and DVD Comfy sofa and  a cosy woodburner in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to Bridge Cottage
Lots of room to relax, sitting room with smart TV and DVD
Comfy sofa and  a cosy woodburner in the sitting room
Snuggle up in front of the stove
Family kitchen diner
Plenty of room to sit and chat
Second sitting room with tv, games, books and French doors to garden.
Master bedroom with en suite
Airy and bright twin room
Super single
Time for coffee on the patio
Award winning
Lovely sunny day
Garden colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portaferry, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda W
1 review
“A little corner of heaven!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

5 Star happiness - my husband and I wanted somewhere special for our friend's 70th birthday present and Bridge Cottage definitely ticked all the boxes - and more! Relaxing dinners at the big pine table, sharing the cooking with a glass of wine in the fantastic kitchen, plenty of chat in the comfy living room and off to bed in the soft beds. We didn't bother going out and just enjoyed the peaceful location in the country. Many thanks Clive and Elaine for all the thoughtful extras such as logs for the fire, the welcome pack with the local foods and even a reminder text a few days before our arrival. We would highly recommend you to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
It is always great to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay - such kind words, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimeejono...
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely well equipped cottage!”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My family and I stayed at Bridge Cottage just after Christmas and into the new year, although the weather was not great we had a lovely time. It was very well equipped in the kitchen and included lots of games and a playstation, along with WI FI. It was peaceful and very comfortable I would recommend heartily to anyone.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you for the great review, it is always nice to know when visitors have enjoyed their stay even when the weather is less than great.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenBowds
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here last week for 3 nights and had the most wonderful time! Fantastic location and Elaine was so accommodating! Everything was there that you should need, we felt at home straight away! We love Portaferry and can't wait to come back to stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Lovely to meet you both and really glad you enjoyed your break, it was a pleasure to welcome you to stay. Hope to see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
un14mi600...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT COTTAGE IDEALLY LOCATED ATTENTION TO DETAIL SPOTLES”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

perfect cottage ideally located for all areas and lovely beaches the cottage was perfect attention to detail amazing everything you would ever need provided all modern conveniences and eco friendly spotlessly clean fantastic welcome pack Elaine & Clive friendly helpfull & welcoming ten out ten for everything we will be back!!!!!!!!!!! Angela & Tom Elwood

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Thank you for leaving such a nice review, we are so glad that you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
storyjack
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“super spacious holiday cottage”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed at Bridge Cottage with two colleagues for 3 days in November. We were working on a document we needed to finish, so it was more work than leisure, but we were HUGELY impressed with the quality of the accommodation. All of the rooms are bigger than average, the kitchen is very well equipped with an excellent range cooker (gas hob/electric oven) and dishwasher and a six seater pine table and chairs. There's a biggish utility room with washing machine and freezer etc. and a spacious garden at the back. All of the fittings are high quality. The central heating works well. There's a wood burning stove in the lounge but we never felt we needed to light it.

In terms of location, the cottage is 2 minutes drive from the comprehensive Centra store in Cloughey (and the beach, if that's what you're looking for) and about 4 or 5 minutes drive from Portaferry. The cottage is slightly off the road in a quiet location in pretty countryside. The owners provided a very comprehensive folder of information, including where to eat locally - we ordered in one evening, and the Chinese restaurant mentioned in the folder delivered good food quickly.

The location is particularly quiet. Very little traffic and hardly any noise of any sort. Very peaceful, sitting with a coffee at 7am watching the sunrise. If you need or want to be in this particular area, I don't think you could find better value than this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing to dislike - everything was super!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and took the time to say so in your review. We would love to welcome you back anytime for work (or leisure).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing