We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful week we had at Lisheen Castle!”

Review of Lisheen Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Thurles, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judy W
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful week we had at Lisheen Castle!”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Set out in the countryside, Lisheen Castle is the perfect base for touring the south of Ireland. Our group of 10 set off each day after a full Irish breakfast--delicious and very filling, prepared by and served by Chef Ursula and her assistant Robyn--to tour sites arranged by Zane Everard, our host-owner of the castle. Along the way if we had questions or wanted to stop and see something our driver was willing to pull over and give us information about the area. Our guides George and Joe were informative and entertaining. Our package included use of the castle, breakfast and dinner each day, transportation for tours every day, all entry fees, a night's visit to a local pub, a gourmet dinner at a local restaurant along with all the amenities at the Castle itself (Wi-Fi, wine with dinner, etc).
We were given a choice of a busy schedule or a relaxed one. We choose to be busy but could opt out of a day's trip if desired. Unfortunately some of us had a 24 hour virus; both Ursula and Zane were so kind as to fetch some meds and check up on us to be sure we were recovering nicely. And we who had stayed behind that day got to go to the rooftop to survey the countryside from on high--spectacular!
The Castle itself is beautifully decorated and comfortable. We gathered each evening for drinks in the study before going into the formal dining room for a sumptuous meal. (Each morning each of us chose from 2 starters, 2 entrees and 2 desserts for our dinner; usually each couple chose one item while the other chose the 2nd item on the menu so we could share. Every meal was superb!)
If you have the chance to go to Ireland, go to Lisheen Castle--you won't regret it. The food, the hospitality, the sights are fantastic. Many thanks to Zane and his family for restoring and preserving this wonderful home as well as many thanks to his staff--Ursula, Robyn, Joe, George, Paddy, Tom and John!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAA1996
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great Vacation; Great Value!”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent a week at Lisheen Castle and had a great time. We have rented properties around the world and found this to be one of the best values we've encountered for a large group.
We had area get for a stay which included breakfast, dinners, and sightseeing.
The setting was very nice, all of us were very comfortable in the property. Beautiful grounds, drawing room, and dining room.
We also enjoyed the sightseeing that was arranged for us and felt comfortable being able to change the itinerary to best suit us.
The food was plentiful and delicious. Service was friendly and efficient. Would defientley recommend a visit to Lisheen Castle, as mentioned ebfore, we youth it was a great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting, service, food...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatnPen
Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lady of the Castle....Lisheen Castle, Thurles, Ireland”
Reviewed 16 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

What a wonderful place to celebrate our 39th anniversary with our two daughters, Hannah and her Keith, Catherine and 3 friends, Rebecca, Melissa, and Juanita, Totsy and Ken, Pat's sister and her husband and two wonderful friends, Jan and Gus...thanks Gus for playing three wonderful days of golf with Pat...
Everything you could possibly need for cooking is there, washer and dryer, so you can keep clothes to a minimum (right ), computer for business or pleasure, the Castle does have wi-fi, but walls are so,thick it can only be used in the library, hall sitting room and sometimes outside at the table, enjoying a pint or glass of wine. We would love to stay here again for another golfing vacation...A BIG thanks to Zane for putting up with all my questions.....The O'Gauthier Clan (Pat n Penny)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Masschusetts, USA
Reviewed 13 March 2010 for a stay in November 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 9 March 2010 for a stay in July 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing