We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
314
243
84
68
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
243
84
68
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop steak leisure centre coffee dock superior room coffee bar delicious cakes elemis products the pub great stop both nights steam room reception staff lovely hotel few drinks reception area salmon
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arriving at this hotel, we were not sure what to expect. We had booked two nights here two weeks ago at the end of our holiday. The hotel is a few miles outside Thurles and appears to be in the middle of nowhere, but appearances are deceptive.

This is because it is located quite close to the M8. On arrival, we found it to be a more modern hotel than we expected, the reception area was bright and spacious. Check-in was dealt with in an efficient and friendly manner and we were informed about all the facilities that the hotel had to offer. After finding our room, our next stop was the hotel's excellent coffee bar.

This is an ideal place to sit and relax while sampling one of their many homemade cakes. Later we tried the bar food which was of an excellent standard if a little pricey. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the leisure centre is worth a visit. The only issue I would have is that as mentioned, some of the bar food is a bit procey.

Overall the stay was most enjoyable, and I would recommend a visit

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoreilly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great spot for Afternoon tea, loads to eat and fresh tea and coffee when required. A lovely way to spend two hours. We went on a Saturday a lot of other tables were full which provided a nice atmosphere. Service was excellent. Very nice sofas and big comfy armchairs.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Omd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and was very impressed with the hotel service and facilities. The food in the restaurant was particularly good and the gift shop offered lots of nice products. We could recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Having visited the H&J before for food and drinks previously, I knew it should be a good overnight option.

I was not disappointed - I only wish it could have been for longer!

We visited the races in Galway, then went for an evening out on the town. Having explained this to the reception - nothing was too much trouble.

We left our cars onsite all day and then arrived back at the hotel at 2am! Again nothing too much trouble.

The breakfast was superb.

Stay there - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

It's a solid 4 star hotel. With loads of staff (because of many conference rooms and tea and coffee sofa areas), you see really great staff ready to help out as well
as not so helpful staff that come across as standoffish and a little judgmental (Which is why you see the range of opinions here). The spa/pool front desk staff can probably work on being friendlier.

But overall well managed hotel and the pub/restaurant area is away from hotel rooms so noise doesn't travel and it's quiet for a good sleep.

Pool itself is low lit (dim) but very relaxing and suitable for families. Great places to visit within 25 minutes like Rock of Cashel and mitchelstown caves.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank LukeLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews