We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
67
48
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
48
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hand massage would highly recommend staying here hospitable staff flower petals bwindi impenetrable forest hot water bottles tucked the wi fi small terrace charge your electronics bed linen five minute drive very nice stay rooms are comfortable local village couple of nights place to stay spent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Gorilla Safari Lodge after a horrible stay at the company's other lodge, Crater Safari Lodge. At Crater Safari Lodge we had to get the police involved to have a (small) chance to have a reasonable discussion with management and our agent, Gofan. Unfortunately without any fair result.

Since despite all the shortcomings at Crater Safari Lodge both, management and agent, had told us, that since we had paid for Gorilla Safari Lodge already, we would 1) receive the best service possible at Gorilla Safari Lodge but 2) could not get a refund (even for a night we didn't spend at Crater), we reluctantly went to Gorilla Safari Lodge. However, we checked out the other lodges around. There are two lodges right next to Gorilla Safari Lodge - both of them cost significantly less, their rooms are at least as nice. In hindsight we should have booked at the Ichumbi Gorilla Lodge. Gorilla Safari Lodge was not as terrible as Crater Safari Lodge, but overall still a sad story with an element of "lipstick on a pig"-management.

However, we can say that the team at Gorilla Safari Lodge did their best. They were all friendly. As at Crater Safari Lodge we seemed to be the only guests (we think both lodges will price themselves out of the market sooner or later).

Since we arrived already as guests who did not want to stay really we may have been a bit sensitive. However, for USD 350 per night we would have expected something different. Very different.

Essentially the service and the food was good. We received the hand massage which is included in each booking here. However, we were reminded of Crater Safari Lodge. The property is not maintained well. Here are some examples:
1) There were nails protruding from the bed frame granted, one would have to do something very special on that bed to hit those rusty nails, they were quite far above the area where you rest your head, but still... the first thing you see when you wake up are two rusty nails).
2) The door to the bungalow didn't close well. There are gaps of multiple centimeters between frame and door. Literally an open invitation to any kind of critters.
3) One of the strongest indicators that things at Gorilla Safari Lodge may be similar to the disaster which Crater Lodge was to us: next to the dining room there are two bathrooms for guests. When we were there, both lacked a light bulb. I tried to take a light bulb from the area where the sink is but that still didn't help. On top of that the bathroom door lacks a door knob or handle.... on the inside. So to get out of the dark place where you have just done your business, you need to be creative ... and when you find out that you can lift the door from the floor so you can get out, you definitely want to wash your hands really, really well...

It is sad to see that the people working at Gorilla Safari Lodge are probably doing their best. However, my guess would be that management in far away Kampala is the actual problem. What we have seen at Crater Safari Lodge and Gorilla Safari Lodge is not a "Uganda problem". We have seen places which were extremely well run (e.g., Isunga Lodge) and places which did ok (e.g., Park View and Rwakobo Rock).

You can provide as many hand massages as you want - but if you fail to have a look at the guests' bathrooms every now and then, then those massaged hands will have to scratch the dirty bathroom floor in the dark to get out of that poorly maintained bathroom. We have seen places for less than USD 50 per night, where the standards are higher than this.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank humphreys402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barukabitaly, Public Relations Manager at Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Humphreys402

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your critic as this helps us improve on our shortcomings.

Even though your agent had booked and paid for a standard room, management offered you a complimentary upgrade which you declined. Unfortunately you demanded a refund and our policy is very clear on refunds. You will appreciate that we made sure that had a pleasant stay at Gorilla Safari lodge.

Despite our efforts you promised to tarnish our name and it seems that you are making good your word as you can see your threats

"I have not received a response for 23 hours by now.
Based on this I have to assume that your company is not willing to be reasonable. I’m surprised - in the age of the internet, where websites like TripAdvisor are being visited by many people. As of now Crater Lodge has 67 reviews, many are positive, only one is “terrible”.

Customer feedback should be valued and taken seriously. Poor customer feedback which is proving that someone is lying would probably reduce any hotel’s sales.

Please let us know as soon as possible how you want to resolve this. For obvious reasons we cannot trust you to host us in any way. We can only hope that you make a reasonable decision."


We strive to ensure that all guests staying in our properties have a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back and offering you our best service always
Thank you for your understanding.
Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

The staff made our visit so wonderful!!! We were always greeted with a smile and an offer to assist us in any way. The location is great for Gorilla trekking (you are right in the middle of the forest! ). Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj7madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barukabitaly, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear JJ7madrid

It was really nice hosting you. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Gorilla Safari Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay.

Price- this is considered luxury for the other stays in the area but it’s well worth it
Quality- Beautiful place. Only qualm I had was that the showers took a bit of time to get hot and there was not a lot of toilet paper in our room.
Quantity- Medium sized room but sufficient.
Atmosphere- the native Pygmy live in the area so it’s nice to hear them sing but sometimes it’s too much like at 3am
Staff- very very nice. I liked them a lot.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We stayed here to do our gorilla tracking and had a great time. The hotel is lovely, with a nice dining area and bedrooms. The bathrooms are a bit outdated, and we had some issues with the hot water in our shower.

Staff were great and incredibly helpful. They fixed the water in our shower, were helpful with any questions we had in preparing for the gorilla tracking, and were very friendly overall. The hotel also booked our gorilla permits for us when we booked with them at no additional cost.

They greet you with a complementary hand massage which was lovely, and the women who does that also provides massages for a reasonable fee. We didn't get one, but the hand massage was very nice.

The location is great, it was a five minute drive to the gorilla tracking base, so we didn't have to leave early in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tandroy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barukabitaly, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Tandroy,
Thanks for taking off some of your precious time to write us this review. Such reviews really help us to improve where we are performing well.
About the bathrooms being a bit out dated, We shall ask the lodge manager which room you stayed in so that we get to know what's wrong with the bathroom.

It was really nice hosting you and we hope to see you again at our Gorilla Safari Lodge.

Kind regards,
Gorilla Safari Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the Gorilla Safari Lodge to enjoy a gorilla habituation experience. The lodge is very close to the park entrance and situated on a very beautiful hillside. The staff was very accommodating and catered to our every need. The habituation experience was fabulous but does require a certain level of fitness and adventure (gators, gloves and durable long sleeve attire HIGHLY recommended). We can’t wait until we are fortunate enough to return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank hfinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barukabitaly, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Hfinb,
Thanks for such a wonderful review. It was nice hosting you. We hope to see in again at Gorilla Safari Lodge.
Yours Sincerely,
Gorilla Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews