We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious in every way”
Review of Shurlock Inn

Shurlock Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Committed to consistently delivering a first-class service and high-quality British ingredients in relaxed and modern environments, our stunning venue reinforces our core company values; to bring a bold and energetic concept to life. This passion is in everything we do; whether it’s dry ageing our own steaks, home smoking our own salmon or barrel ageing spirits and crafting new cocktails.
Reviewed 28 October 2021

We called in here for lunch as we were passing and had a really great experience from the greeting at the door to the excellent food and wine. The choice of wines by the glass is much better than in most pubs.The staff were charming and helpful, the interior is really comfortable as well as stylish and the menu is varied and interesting. There is also a decent car park.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank dosiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShurlockManager, Guest Relations Manager at Shurlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Dosiar.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We pride ourselves with our handpicked wine selection and are glad to know that you enjoyed them too. I shall pass your complimentary words over to our Front of House team.

Hope to see you again soon,
Annabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2021

Got together with the family yesterday for Sunday lunch and it was so lovely!! I had the melted brie to start then the fillet steak with roast trimmings, Steak was cooked to perfection, as were the potatoes! (I'm really fussy with roast potatoes, I like them crispy on the outside, fluffy inside). My son had the kids steak and chips and he ate all his up which is rare as he usually leaves some.
The whole family enjoyed their meals. The wine was lovely as were the sparkling cocktails. The team at Shurlock Inn couldn't do enough for us. we asked for a couple of changes to some dishes and nothing was an issue and all done with a smile!
All in all it was a refreshing experience, as I've found lately that service in a lot of other places has struggled for various reasons post pandemic.
Well done - we'll definitely be back!! Thank you.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShurlockManager, Guest Relations Manager at Shurlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Honey B.

Thank you for your review. I am very glad you enjoyed your experience with us; all of your lovely words about the food/drink and staff are amazing to hear.

Hope to see you soon,
Annabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

We had a great Sunday lunch recently for the Aunty’s birthday and I have to say the food was unbelievable. The staff were second to none and great atmosphere. We will definitely go there again from now on . Thank you Shurlock

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Westhamutd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShurlockManager, Guest Relations Manager at Shurlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Westhamtd7,

Thank you for your review. Its amazing to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday experience so much. We are excited to see your party soon for more celebrations.

Kind regards,
Annabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2021 via mobile

First visit after a while of wanting to come.
Really impressive looking pub with two very different areas one very modern and the other very country pub. Starters were lovely as was the selection of local beers we tried. We had the roast dinners which were nice. My pork belly was a great bit of meat.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank johnwalter888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShurlockManager, General Manager at Shurlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Hello John,

Thank you for your review of your visit to us and we hope your wife enjoyed her Birthday.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

Delicious cocktails! The man behind the bar with long hair surprised us with some amazing cocktail knowledge! We told him what spirits we liked and he created drinks we had never had before. They also had live music playing (Ellen Blane) who was incredible! Impeccable evening, couldn’t complain at all. I will be back!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank X2390BPlaurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShurlockManager, General Manager at Shurlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Hi Laura,

Thank you for your review and myself and the team are over the moon you enjoyed your evening with us.
We are in the process of putting together our new cocktail menu so it will be great to see you again when this is live.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shurlock Inn also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Shurlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.