We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hayley
Brisbane, Australia

Fantastic service by everyone from Mercer Motel.

Review of Mercer Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2024via mobile
My partner and I are used to 5 star. We were driving from Taupo to Auckland Airport and wanted to stay in Mercer for the night. We tried the Mercer Motel and they were booked out. However they did have a donga style room out the back. Last bit of accommodation they could offer us. My partner and I were hesitant as their was no tap, shower or toilet in the little room. Curtains were torn, felt abit grubby but the service by the girls on reception was beyond excellent. Very accommodating. Very helpful. Straight talking. We loved the little town. Being able to walk to the Irish Pub for a good feed and drinks. The toilet block at the Motel we used for showering was clean and the water piping hot. They supplied us towels as we were meant to have our own if renting the donga for the night. Ended up having a blast. Can't speak highly enough of the girls who checked us in and provided the towels. We'd go back for sure!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Parking was easy. We parked directly beside our donga room. Had a microwave, kettle & small bar...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.8 km from Mercer Motel
Free parking
Soft Leaf Farmstay
Booking.com
    2.6 km from Mercer Motel
    Premier Spa Bath Suite
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $123
    • Hotels.com
    9.1 km from Mercer Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Studio Plus with spa bath
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $189
    • Hotels.com
    14.7 km from Mercer Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $181
    • Hotels.com
    15.4 km from Mercer Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Comfy Bed!
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $227
    • Booking.com
    15.8 km from Mercer Motel
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    26.6 km from Mercer Motel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    40.3 km from Mercer Motel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Conference Centre, Jet Park Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    40.6 km from Mercer Motel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Exterior view
    38.5 km from Mercer Motel
    Restaurant
    Room service
    View more hotels in Mercer
    Reviews (9)
    Filter reviews
    9 results
    Traveller rating
    4
    0
    1
    2
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    4
    0
    1
    2
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 9 reviews
    Reviewed 6 November 2017

    Arrived late but were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. Off the beaten track which was an absolute delight to be in the countryside away from the hustle and bustle. Rooms were warm and spacious and amenities in top shape. Great showers with plenty of water and pressure. Recommendation for local restaurant and drinking hole was spot on and proved a real hit with our group.

    Date of stay: November 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AnnieD2250
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 October 2016

    If you want to go somewhere to feel welcomed with open arms, podges place is the place to be. If you had to compare it to any ole pub in New Zealand it wouldn't stand out by looks alone. But stop here and have a beer, and be expected to chat it up with the locals, a be treated like a dear friend.
    Me and my husband happend upon this place while doing the Te Araroa hike across New Zealand, they offered us free camping in the back yard area, and pizza to fill us up for days. I felt like I was family, they even took us on a tiki tour all the way to Rotarua. Now, while they can't do this with everyone who walks through their doors, expect for them to try and reach above and beyond to make you feel welcome. What they lack in "luxury" accommodation, they make up for in heart. So like the wise ole people say, don't judge a book by its cover.

    Date of stay: March 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Vrashchik
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

    Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst working. The rooms we got were below average. TV was ancient, fridge seal was broken, lamp didn't have a bulb, shower drain was blocked and no wifi. The list goes on. Do not recommend.

    Date of stay: August 2016
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    3  Thank seanmcdonald_13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 May 2015

    I stayed in a cabin costing $50.00 per night which consisted of a double bed, an old T.V. and a chair. Toilet facilities were along way away with communal showers (2 available) and toilets. I can only describe the outside cabin as a square potable box with windows in it. Suitable for backpackers possibly.

    Access to the adjacent tavern was easy and accessible, and entertainment was the attraction for the overnight accommodation. Staff at the tavern are friendly and welcoming.

    Room tip: Ring personally first to know what is available, cheap is not a good option for comfort.
    Date of stay: May 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank wahinewha
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

    My boyfriend & I had just finished a hard days hike in the Hunua Ranges when we stumbled across Podges Place(Mercer Motel). The people who run it now are so friendly & gave us the warmest welcome :) We stayed in a basic cabin in back that provided everything we needed. The tavern adjacent has amazing pizza. Also just a 2 minute walk away is a gas station and Mcdonalds.

    Date of stay: March 2015
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank KerrinJ8
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews