We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Al Arsenault
Port Moody, Canada

Fabulously Five Stars!

Review of Ava Lodge Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 May 2024via mobile
Absolutely top notch! There is nothing that needs improvement here. Everything from the basics of cleanliness, comfortableess, and quietness is fulfilled. All appears very new and totally functional. The receptionist Christine is wonderful! There is lots of parking with numerous restaurants nearby. My room had a kitchenette, small balcony, and a very functional layout. You won't find better at (almost) any cost! I wish I could have stayed longer than 4 days!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ava Lodge, General Manager at Ava Lodge Motel, responded to this review
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi there
Thank you for sharing your review -
We very much appreciate your comments - and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ava Lodge.
All the best with the rest of your travels - and look forward to seeing you again if you get to return to our region.
Take care & keep well from Christina & the Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dupont Executive Motels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $189
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Harbourview Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $194
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dupont Motel
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $164
0.7 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
The Office
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free parking
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $142
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Ava Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Petone
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
127
20
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
127
20
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plenty of parking reasonable price queen suite modern motel comfortable bed large room waterfront unit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Modern, attractive facility with kitchenette, nice furnishings, off-street parking. Attentive and beyond the normal service. When was the last time the owner did your laundry as the guest laundry was backed up? Highly recommend. We stayed here twice on our New Zealand travels.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wc9828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ava Lodge, General Manager at Ava Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Thank you for your review - we are so pleased you were comfortable during your stay here with us.
Hope the rest of your travels here go well and you return home with great memories of your holiday in New Zealand.
Thankyou for being lovely guests!
Take care and keep well -
Warm regards from Christina & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Love this place so clean and comfy. Stayed for one night only. Lots of real nice little finishing touches, I’m 7 months pregnant and the bath had a cute little tub of bath salts! Bonus!! Bed was large and super comfy. My partner loved the coffee machine! Great location and was quiet. Would love to stay again - Thankyou!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank knbrown24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ava Lodge, General Manager at Ava Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback -
Lovely to read you enjoyed the bath salts and your partner made good use of the coffee machine.
Hope you got to venture around the corner to Jackson Street to try the Cafes & Eateries.
Not long now till you welcome your new addition to your family - very exciting times ahead for you both !
Warm regards and best wishes from Christina & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms, well located within a couple of minutes walk from the beach, Jackson Street shops and local bus/train routes. Fast wifi and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheDesertKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ava Lodge, General Manager at Ava Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Hi there -
Very happy to see from your feedback that you had a great time here in Petone.
Your review has been shared with the team - they were very pleased with themselves and felt appreciated.
Thank you from Christina & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2023

The manager was quite grumpy and rude. The Lodge itself is nice enough but the manager caused us a number of problems with a rude personality. Also a housekeeping person came into the room when the do not disturb sign was on

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scenic43816411150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023

My partner & I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a solid choice. Free parking (and if the lot is full, the street seems pretty empty all the time). The room had a strange odor when we walked in, but I think it was some sort of air freshener or disinfectant. It wasn't necessarily BAD, but it was STRONG.

The woman who checked us in wasn't necessarily warm, but she was friendly enough. The room was very clean, bed & pillows were comfortable and we were within walking distance of many restaurants. Shower had good water pressure and they had some nice toiletries for use.

We aren't high maintenance, so this place suited us just fine.

All in all, a solid choice.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jahhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ava Lodge, General Manager at Ava Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Thank you for choosing to stay here with us at Ava Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and experienced some of our great restaurants just around the corner in Jackson Street.

Hope the rest of your trip went well -

Take care and keep well from Christina & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews