We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenlea Cottage(Petone)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dupont Executive Motels(Petone)(Great Value!)
US$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camellia Court Motel(Lower Hutt)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbeycourt Motel(Lower Hutt)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Champers Motor Inn(Lower Hutt)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
93
14
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
14
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjackson streetfree wifiqueen studiogreat facilitiessky tvlower huttoff street parkingan easy walklocation is greatrestaurants and shopsdining areaaround the cornerwellington citythank you very muchshort noticenice kitchenettelovely owners
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Our little whānau loved our time at Ava Lodge. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean clean clean! We had the pleasure of trying out both the Super King and King Spa rooms. The owners are lovely and so helpful, we traveled with our one year old and they had a port a cot beautifully made up waiting for us in our room. Fantastic location, with the bus stop literally across the road and goes directly into town. We cannot wait to find another excuse to come back to Wellington and stay at Ava Lodge :-)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Awesome place to stay, new and funky design. Friendly staff that are helpful and cheerful. It is always clean tidy and quiet.

Just a short drive to Wellington city or a shot walk to the train to the city. Great value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank bevenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This is probably the best equipped apartment hotel I've stayed in. The owners have thought of everything, and provided it in the room. Spotlessly clean and comfortable room, with cooking facilities (microwave and hotplate in studio room). Great shower. Sky TV and free wifi.
Owners are accessible, friendly, and helpful, without ever being obtrusive.
I initially chose this hotel for my first couple of nights in Wellington based on its location, and on reviews here. Decided to stay for full week. Petone is an interesting area, especially Jackson Street which has dozens of restaurants. I really enjoyed being close to the shore, and able to explore other parts of the harbour including Days Bay. It takes about 20 minutes on bus to central Wellington, perhaps a few minutes more in rush hour - but the trip is mainly a pleasant one around the harbour shore. Plenty of buses going to main railway station, Lambton Quay and bus 91 to airport (if you're not going to airport, it's cheaper to take the other buses into town).

If you want to be in centre of Wellington CBD, Ava Lodge would not be for you. But if you don't need or want to be in centre of town, it's a great choice and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have view to street so good to check when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

It started with extremely friendly and helpful people at this hotel when booking in and continued during the stay. The room was perfect and we could not fault it in any way. It was warm, comfortable and extremely clean. The room was very well laid out and in beautiful condition. It was close to shops & the bus service into Wellington. We stayed for two nights here before heading over to the South Island. This accomodation wins hands down compared to other hotels where we have stayed on two other previous occasions. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

If you come to Wellington without visiting Petone, I must say you have only seen half of the city. There are so many other features in Petone you have to see to make your trip worth while coming to this part of the country. Particularly you have to visit Days Bays and the near areas, so many to mention. Google it then you would know what I mean here.
However, if you come to Petone without staying in this Ava Lodge you are missing the best accommodation not only in Petone but also entire Wellington! The detailed design of their facility is so cozy and comfortable, every time I check out of that motel I feel completely relaxed, recharged and ready for my very busy life back home. I call this motel has a Soul. It is more than just a place you sleep, it is a place I can rewind for the next day. I highly recommend this place for everyone particularly if you are after quality. And the bonus is their fee is so competitive, without parking fee is even better. Most hotels in the CBD would cost you at least $20 on top of their expensive tariff.
Anyway it is definitely worth coming to Petone and staying in this top motel. You won't regret it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank SanWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews