We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,551)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveller rating
745
362
239
101
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
745
362
239
101
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun club olive branch windows buffet cat woman punta cana sunnyside grill pizza shop bavaro side king kong chopsticks restaurant chop sticks entertainment staff willy wonka quiet pool main pool the mediterranean restaurant swim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Dont usually complain when on holiday but in this instance I feel I must.
Booked into Sunscape Dominican beach for 14 night stay, we had two restaurants on our resort, kaliadescope which was never open and Olive branch which was closed on numerous nights which meant guests had to go to restaurants on Bavaro side, this led to queues and waiting.
Had to wait 30 to 45 minutes for table in Italian restaurant and when you got in found they had ran out of some food on menu, windows restaurant was packed, food overcooked and cold unless you ate burgers all time.
Breakfast at windows restaurant was chaos, with coffee not getting served for ages, totally understaffed for demand and some staff just couldn’t be bothered.
Arrival letter stated bars open until 11pm, this is false, they closed at 10pm and sometimes didn’t open at all, this meant all guests had to go to bavaro lobby to get a drink which was packed noisy with nowhere to sit, occasionally queud for 30 minutes to get a drink, this is not acceptable, also staff at bars were rude and sometimes ignored you.
Room service poor, rang a few times for room service, sometimes never came other times took over an hour.
Mini bar in room sometimes not refilled, stated beer on welcome letter but none supplied.
Towels in room were grey old and frayed and still looked dirty, beach towels were supplied but if you didn’t get there before 9am there wasn’t any left, you would then be told to come back at 2pm when they would have some more, not acceptable.
Bins around beach and pool area were full and overflowing and not emptied until following day.
We ate out of resort for 5 nights to avoid queues and chaos.
Overall very disappointed with services provided, complained to management who said above would be sorted but nothing changed.
Will not be returning to this resort and will not recommend to anybody, overall star rating for this hotel is way to high.
Do not expect to go on holiday to queue and wait, overall too many guests for services provided.
Good thing is room was clean and gardens and public areas spotless.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Andybainbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks with our son and his girlfriend.plus points the rooms were clean and the gardens were beautiful,very hard working staff in these areas.i would like to point out we are not picky people and have never had anything to complain about on other holidays in the Dominican with the riu hotels.we found some nights the Olivebranch resteraunt near to where our room was wasn't open on an evening,and the bar flip flopz ajoining it would shut at 6pm instead of 11pm if the resteraunt wasn't open.then we would have to go to sister hotel to eat and wait in queues for a table,more so the Italian which we enjoyed very much,but would have to wait 40mins for a table.some staff in these areas we found sluggish and couldn't be bothered attitude.room service was disgusting.my son and his girlfriend waited 3 days for hand towels and soft drinks and water in the minibar.he had to go down to reception to see them because they never delivered.all bars outsibe bavaro lobby shut at 10pm.on arrival letter said they all shut at 11pm.after speaking to management about this they didn't have a clue about it,and said they shouldn't be shutting early.on a whole very disappointed with the service and amenity side of this hotel.too many guests for the resteraunts and amenities.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clairebainbridge2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived on 23rd August and were more than happy with our room and the beautiful surroundings. The food was pretty standard AI fare, repetitive but with a good variety, so you could eat something different every day unless you’re a fussy eater.

The beach was a different matter though! I’d read the reviews about the seaweed but we’ve experienced this before in Caribbean resorts, so I wasn’t too bothered as I know it’s a force of nature. However, we have never experienced such a lot and such a mess. The resort had a team of men working on the beach clearing it from dawn till dusk, as well as heavy diggers shifting the weed into huge piles. As it rotted it stank putrid and turned the sea black!

By the middle of our first week they’d cleared a patch of beach and had constructed a boom net a few metres out to sea, to stop more weed coming to shore. They’d started taking away the piles of rotting weed by the lorry load and the sea started to clear. By the end of our holiday the beach was beautifully clean white powder sand and weed free and the sea clear. If we’d only been there for the first week, I’d be warning prospective guests not to go if they wanted a beach holiday. But the transformation was amazing and I think future visitors will wonder what previous reviewers were warning about.

One thing this resort did excellently was providing activities, both around the pool and on the beach. We don’t usually take part, but we’re encouraged to join in and we actually enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed spectating. They also have a rainy day program, although we were lucky not to need it as we had good weather. The staff here are all really friendly too and are keen to ensure your holiday is enjoyable.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cazWarsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We really enjoyed this resort! Would recommend it to everyone. Jonathan at Checkin an Ariel the Bellboy are very informative and helpful. Entertainment every night was awesome an all the food places an open bars were great too.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jazz3694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

The food was just fine - decent variety & choice. My husband I eat low carb and had no problem finding enough to eat. The fresh fish at the lunch buffets was awesome and all the staff we encountered were without exception, kind & helpful. Our kids LOVED the pools & the slushies drinks (with no booze). The rooms were clean and well kept. No complaints at all, a lovely family vacation!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ubuntuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews