We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding - Do yourself a favor and visit this restaurant!”
Review of O Lagar

O Lagar
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 October 2018

I usually don't write reviews on tripadvisor, but I'll take the time for this one.
When we arrived the kitchen was about to close, but the staff was still very welcoming and allowed us to lunch there. We were the only clients left on the restaurant!
From the starters to the dessert it was all delicious. The portions are great and the value is more than fair for the quality provided.
I most definitely recommend this establishment! Specially the "alheira" and the meat ("posta à mirandesa").

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fredo-CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2018

This was one of the best meals we had in the 9 days we stayed in Portugal. The food was really lovely, we both had the casserole type dishes - wild board stew and the pork with beans both great. We had very tasty olives bread and cheese whilst ordering and having a drink.
Service excellent, all well explained by very smiley staff.
We had the local red wine which was from the local wine cooperative, it was lovely.
People were queuing for tables so would suggest going around 8pm as it got very busy after this.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Cycling_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The lady (owner) spoke vary well English and explained the Portuguese menu. She was vary frendly and the food was vary good. A lot of locals eat there as well. during the summer reservation will be smart.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights at Casa do Avo to visit the nearby Douro Wine Quintas and the Archeological site and museum at Foz Coa and this restaurant blew our minds! We’ve been traveling by car all the way from Andalucía spain and we’ve eaten in many great places but this dinner was easily top 3 best dinners we’ve had. Order the crock pots! The Favada entrecote (veil bean stew) and the feijoada de javali (wild boar stew) and any Douro wine from the region! You will not regret it!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Arthurdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We were served by Susana who described all the dishes on the menu and helped us select wonderful delicious food. The two fish dishes were fresh and perfectly prepared. She even brought me an extra serving of greens. My husband's chicken dish was special to the area and he enjoyed it very much. Wine selection was vast and Susana
also guided us and informed us to what we selected The Restaurant seemed very popular with locals as well as tourists. Was recommended by our B&B hosts.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bevandbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Lagar also viewed

Torre de Moncorvo, Braganca District
Torre de Moncorvo, Braganca District
 
Vila Nova de Foz Coa, Guarda District
Vila Nova de Foz Coa, Guarda District
 
Torre de Moncorvo, Braganca District
Vila Nova de Foz Coa, Guarda District
 

Been to O Lagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing