We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
254
20
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
254
20
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maasai village geodesic dome dome tents ngorongoro crater local communities burning stove hour drive maasai guide walkie talkie excellent driver communal dining hot water bottles luxurious bathroom other camps higher altitude their lives amazing honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2021

Words fall short to describe the experience! Bulletpoint style highlights:

- Accommodation: the "pods" are truly unique. Heavy on the wooden finishing giving it a chalet- kind of feeling, massive bed in the center of the room, gorgeous and huge walk in shower, very necessary fireplace in the room, it TRULY is something to behold. And the views are to die for!

- Staff: EXTREMELY nice and helpful staff ready to serve your every whim. Special mention to Joseph, our "service fundi" (you get assigned one person who will take care of you); to Ayoub, our guide with more than 20 years experience out of which 15 with Asilia (and who got awards for excellency in conservation), and the camp managers whose name I can't immediately recall (despite their extreme professionalism)

- Food: Deeee-lish! Chef comes and explain at the table what you will be having, letting you make changes if anything is not to your liking. special mention for the glazed porkchops, my mouth still waters thinking of them

- Hikes: We opted to do the Empakaai hike, which I absolutely recommend! A part of nature left untouched and not very commercially exploited, a 40 minute hike down into the crater, and a 57 (timing is everything) hike up. Having a coffee and some snacks in the crater, next to the lake, looking at the flemingos and simply being overwhelmed by nature's beauty is something that'll be a fond memory forever

- Location: albeit a bit far from the Ngorongoro park entrance, this was not problematic at all, seeing that the drive from the camp to the park entrance is as scenic as they come, with wide plains and very picturesque Maasai villages all around. We even bumped into a group of ostridges!

In summary, a no brainer, this place is something special, only made more special by the staff, service and food!

Wished I'd never had to leave!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dietah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asilia Africa, Owner at The Highlands, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Hello Dietah,

What lovely comments! Thank you so much.

We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us at The Highlands so much - from the rooms, staff and food to the activities. We’re lucky to have such an amazingly scenic and remote location and we are so happy that we were able to share it with you.

Thank you so much, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review and thank you for your kind words. We hope that the memories that you made with Joseph, Ayoub and the rest of the team here at The Highlands will stay with you and that you can come back and visit us again sometime.

Warmest regards from Ngorongoro,
The Highlands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021

I would not have chosen a better place to celebrate my 40th. The highlands was the perfect choice. Set in Ngorongoro 2700m above sea level...the views are breathtaking. Our dome shaped tent overlooked the vast landscapes of the Ngorongoro. The rooms are heated with a fireplace that is kept lit the whole night. Hot water bottles are provided for extra warmth and comfort. The highlight of our room was the Jacuzzi....sipping some sparkling wine under the Ngorongoro skies.

The decor and the photos of the Masai community that lives within the conservation area are just breathtaking.

The staff at The highlands made our stay very special. We were treated like royalty. The food was amazing. Chef Thomas was excellent and patient with us.

Our guide Kiduku....waooòo He made everything fun. The game drives, the surprise bush lunch...fine dining in the crater...that made my day beautiful. He is an amazing guide and always smiling.

Our host the manager Richard was so kind and took care of our every request.

I would recommend The highlands to anyone celebrating a special day in their lives...honeymoon, birthday, anniversary etc.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DNC_Safaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asilia Africa, Owner at The Highlands, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review!

It was an absolute pleasure to host you for your 40th birthday and we are honoured that you chose The Highlands as the place for that celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed having you in camp and we hope you will not wait for your 50th birthday before returning!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Highlands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

This is a camp that you feel is out of this world! Firstly from the Ngoro Ngoro Crater entrance it is a 45 minutes to 1 hour drive up hill to the highest point after dotting remote masai villages along the route.

We got lucky sighting a leopard enroute to the camp. A very exclusive catch and spent 10 minutes with this shy cat.

Our trip coincided with a full moon and the tents are star gazing pods. The experience was very unique.

The staff are very friendly and as typical of Asilia concept camps treat their guest like royals!

The cabins are very unique have a fireplace to keep you warm- especially appreciated because it is very cold up in the highlands. If the fire place goes out , the staff can be called even in the wee hours of the morning to replenish the firewood.

Hot chocolate , tea, coffee before going to sleep or when you wake up - in your cabin - truly appreciated because it is cold up there.

I highly recommend the hiking trip they organise to see a nearby waterfall which is the source of water for the Ngorongoro wild life.

I recommend staying here for a minimum of 2-3 nights.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Parasaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asilia Africa, Owner at The Highlands, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the warmth of our hospitality.

It was our pleasure to take care of your every need during your stay. What special and lasting memories you must have of the leopard sighting!
We hope to welcome you back for another incredible stay, until then, hold on to the memories.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Highlands team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020

Our stay at The Highlands during our honeymoon was impeccable. The igloo-like tents were so fun, and the crackling fireplaces and heated water bottles in the bed each night made the stay at the higher altitude so comfortable and cozy. The food was incredible, as was the attention from the staff. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lakindietel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asilia Africa, Owner at The Highlands, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Hello,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted your stay with us went so well and you enjoyed staying at the highest point. Thank you for visiting us and being our guest. I hope you may return one day!

Warmest regards,
The Highlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

My husband and I stayed here in October 2020.
The journey from the airport to the hotel was slightly rocky and long, but Noel our guide was great at managing these journeys.
Upon arrival to the hotel, we were overwhelmed at the beauty of the accommodation. Petriola the manager was extremely welcoming. Set over 2700 metres high in a dome shape, the interior was truly stunning. Though it could get cold in the morning, it was very warm with the help of the log burner.
We were lucky to use the hot tub Honeymoon suite which was fantastic, overlooking the fantastic views.
Our tour guide Noel was very knowledgeable, friendly and always had a smile on his face. We had a very nice drive over the crater and enjoyed a hike.
I’d advise to pack very warm clothing as it can get cold with the wind and altitude.
The food was some of the best we’d had on safari. The chef was so kind to provide his recipe. We were served by Salum, who was kind, attentive, always on hand and fantastic in making us feel at home.
Thank you to the staff- all very warm, welcoming, thanks for the songs , dances and laughs.
We highly recommend the Highland as part of your safari journey.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ishrat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asilia Africa, Owner at The Highlands, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Hello

What a wonderful review! Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation. We truly appreciate the very special comments you have made.

It was a pleasure for us to host you and we would welcome the opportunity to do so again. When you are longing for the unique charm of The Highlands again, the stunning location, that fabulous food, the very warm hospitality will all be waiting for you!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Highlands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews