We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
72
85
49
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
85
49
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe room hotel review the staff was friendly and helpful buffet breakfast checking in recommend this hotel comfortable stay road trip free wifi rooms are clean garden route receptionist accommodation diaz
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel/villa guests are kept in a prison. Lapa available for rent, but no outside guests allowed. As South-Africans visiting our home town we are totally in disgust with Jan-Hendrik the 24 year old manager, for not allowing us to invite a few (3) close friends and close family to join in. For the past 4 years, we have been doing it, without any issues. The villas and hotel rooms are well over priced for what is available.
Some issues that was preventable, but yet, nothing was done about it:
* checking in: check-in time was 2pm, yet we could only check in at 5pm (due to the rooms not being cleaned yet, although we asked for a room asap (atleast at check-in time) as we were traveling for 36 hours non-stop from the middle-east. After sooooo many requests to get the room done, my dad, now 64 had to sleep on the restaurant sofa by the time it was 4:30pm.

* we rented 2 ‘villas’ btw bachelor flats for double the price as normal rooms, yet the fridge was not working and spilling water all over the room. We lost 3 days worth of food and beverages because of this fridge.

* the manager was no-where near the rooms, therefor walking into the room at 10pm, we realized we had no electricity, going to the reception, they expected us to move into a new room blaming the poor cleaning lady for this mess.

* basic amenities was not in place, hairdryers, plug sockets (not working), no pressure in showers and rooms that smells like sewage, including tiles lifting everywhere was not a pleasant experience for my home town. Disgusting place to bring overseas guests to.

*Lapa area is dirty with windows out and and entire hotel/lodge needs a paint job and maintenance done all over.

*Pathetic customer service at desk, since Jan-Hendrik was keeping open an entire hotel for the week, to accommodate a small tour-group at the end of the week.

* free wi-fi is apparently available, although we could not manage to access it at all. The one phone that managed to access wi-fi was blocked off whatsapp, as business owners from overseas, this is an important way of communication with clients and employees.

*public bathroom in lobby smells like a forgotten toilet in the middle of no-where.

All and all a poor poor poor hotel. For a person that travelled the world, this place is on the bottom of the list of places to stay at. Overpriced compared to 5 star places around the area where a guest have a bit more freedom.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marie9076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GManager500, Manager at Oceans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Marie9076

Thank you for your time to write your review, we appreciate when guests give their feedback on how their stay was with us.

Please accept my apology for not having a pleasant stay with us during your visit in South Africa and I take full responsibility for incidents that took place as mentioned. I am still very young and have a lot to learn about the responsibilities that accompanies a managerial position as well as the consequences of the decisions that I make.

Your grievances have been noted and taken up with our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeping Supervisors. Be assured that we will try our best to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.

We do hope that you will visit Mossel Bay again and that your experience at our establishment will not affect your choice of destination for future trips.

Kind Regards
Jan-Hendrik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Water not very strong. When showering the bathroom floor is soaking wet. Shower inside bath with shower curtain - rather put shower door. Not enough hot water. No spoons - only plastic sticks - not nice to use. Noisy road when in the A rooms

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guestgM4988IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

First the room was very clean and nice. Second the bathroom not up to standards the shower in bath not nice the water temperature is not warm enough and the shower curtain not waterproof when you shower everything is wet. Third the breakfast terrible - the fruit was not fresh, there was no butter just margarine and we did not eat margarine, one morning the scrambled eggs was blue and the sweet was dry. For the price value not the best place for breakfast. The service when we checked in was excellent and everyone was friendly.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Berna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the moeni moani self accommodation flat and it was nice and clean. The shower could do with a renovation but other than that we enjoyed it. It is quite large with a nice sitting area, TV, large kitchen, 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom with a shower and a bathtub, and a half bathroom with a toilet and sink. We didn’t use or look at the pool as we were just staying the night as we continued on our road trip. There was a bit of noise from traffic around 6h00 in the morning. I’m not sure if that’s normal or if it was because we happened to be there during the buffalo motorcycle rally.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tiasharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The hotel was easily accessible with own parking. Free shuttle provided transport to good restaurants. Good breakfast provided. Pool area equipped with sunchairs and beachtowels. Car is needed for transfer to nice beach.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jkroke550792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews