We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
241
181
66
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
181
66
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gannet restaurant harbour suite garden route hotel restaurant one night comfortable hotel presidential suite main bedroom excellent hotel reception staff cape town buffet breakfast welcome drink secure parking reception area pleasant stay sea view
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Easy parking and good location in Mossel Bay with reasonable rates. It was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. We would stay there again. The area was safe and walkable even at night. It was an easy walk down the hill to some restaurants.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear LeonNoel7

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor with your recent stay.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay does have a good location being centrally located and within walking distance to all mayor tourist attractions. Glad you enjoyed the surroundings.

I sincerely hope we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Mossel Bay.

Kind Regards,

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel while traveling up the garden route ,we wasn't impressed by the reception area ,it looked old and very dated ,feared the worse .we were a little early for checkin and the room wasn't ready so asked if there was somewhere to get a coffee .we were shown to the pool area .the reception and the restaurant / pool deck area are like two different worlds .to cut a long story short .pool area great,restaurant very modern and the food and presentation some of the best all holiday,great modern and clean room ,friendly staff and only a short walk to a small beautiful beach .a great place to stay for a short break,well recommended .you know what they say about first impressions ,totally wrong this time

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steveandsuedring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear steveandsuedring

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

5 Star recommendation, wow! We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your stay.

I sincerely hope we'll have the opportunity again to host you.

Kind Regards

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Protea Mossel Bay a few times and it has always been very good. On our visit in July we stayed in the Presidential Suite and all I can say is WOW. The best we have ever stayed in. Peter the reservations Manager and Ronel the GM set a wonderful example in how a hotel should be run.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Desm995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Desm995

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Kind Regards

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

On our road trip from Hillcrest to Cape Town with my Brother & Sister-in-Law one of our stops was at the Protea in Mossel Bay. The staff were efficient, happy and very helpfull, the rooms were excellent for a mid range hotel being fairly large with decent en-suites and spotlessly clean throughout. But the cherry on the cake was the attached restaurant with seafood to die for, excellently prepared and presented, and the breakfast in the morning was all you could require, I'd highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask to see or have a picture of the rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Chris P

Thank you for taking time to write your comments on TripAdvisor with your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay.

Road trips are such a wonderful experience and you get to see little interesting places along the way, glad we were part of yours. I will certainly pass your comments onto our restaurant, we appreciate your feedback!

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay for 2 nights and could not have been more please with the hotel. While the hotel itself is a bit on the older side, the room we had, room #4, had just been updated and felt like a brand new hotel. They were in the process of updating the suites. The hotel is in a great location with great views of the bay. The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and efficient. The restaurant is very good AND popular, so you might want to make reservations for dinner as it appeared that a lot of tourists from other hotels were eating at the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was GREAT. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear BTay-Traveler

Thank you for reviewing Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay on Tripadvisor with your recent stay.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews